Location:
Zip Code:
  >
On the go
Discover your favorite tearoom with the TeaMap application from Adagio! Take the largest active tea-room directory with you while on the go.
download for:
Local tea deals
Enter your zipcode and stay abreast of tea events and related specials in your area!
Subscribe
Email:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Owner log in
Password:   log in
Don't have it? Call us: (917) 815-7185

Serendipity Tea Room and Cafe'

127 Speer St
Belle Vernon, PA
724-483-3041
visit website

#10
of 167
in PA
Hours

Sun closed
Mon closed
Tue closed
Wed 11:00am - 3:00pm
Thu 11:00am - 3:00pm
Fri 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sat 11:00am - 3:00pm

Overview

'Located in the Riverside Village Shoppes in Lower Speers PA.'




Want directions? Enter your address:
Street:

Zip:


upload photos





SMS yourself tearoom address:
Phone Number:

Provider:

contact this tearoom
add review
get events alerts



Reviews

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I don't know what tearoom the people visited who had a negative experience. It surely could not be Serendipity. Every single visit I have had (and there have been many) has been wonderful. The food is obviously homemade, the service is perfect, the decor is lovely and relaxing. I recommend Serendipity to everyone I know. The cheesecake in particular is the best I have ever tasted. If you haven't yet visited, do so - you will not be disappointed.

- Jennifer 03/28/14

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

My friend Heidi and i visited recently. The staff was extremely sweet and knowledgeable. The decor was nice, but I have to say I wish I would have listened to Liz as the food did not meet our expectations.

- Marie 03/14/14

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I usually don't comment on websites. But felt the need. Once a month my friend and I try to visit a different Tea Room for a girls lunch out. I use Tea Map to help me choose. When I read the review from Liz, I felt I had to comment. I was there with my friend in February and found the shop quite charming. It doesn't look exactly like the pictures, no seat covers, but seemed brighter, think there are different curtains. From other tea rooms I have been, they will only give you 2 small pots of water and you choose 1 bag per pot. Here we could try as many teas as we wanted. They even would brew us loose tea, if we wanted! I had a great salad with chicken salad on top. I didn't have the soup, but my friend had potato, and said it might have been the best she has ever had. She had ... (more)

- Anne 03/10/14

Tearoom Response
Anne,

Thank you for the comments. I am so glad that you and your friend enjoyed your day out. I am happy you liked the almond torte cake, it is one of my personal favorites. I will look into expanding the menu slightly. We have added a new salad and sandwich to the menu.
I also wish we had a restroom in our tiny Tea Room, maybe some day. But you do get a chance to shop during your short break from your meal:)
Hope to meet you here one day!

Thanks again,
Connie
Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

My mother & I had lunch at the tea room on Saturday. It was excellent from start to finish. I will definitely be returning soon. Connie & staff couldn't of been nicer. Thank you for the great experience.

- Erin 03/09/14

Tearoom Response
Erin,

Thank you and your mother for joining us for lunch on Saturday. I am so glad I got to meet you both! Please come again.

Connie
Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I don't know why the last person didn't like their experience because we absolutely loved it. The food was delicious, including the soup & the service was excellent. The décor was everything you would except for a tea room. It was just lovely. I would highly recommend the Serendipity Tea Room to all my family & friends. We will definitely be back soon.

- Jena 03/07/14

Tearoom Response
Jena,
Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you again soon!
Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

Very disappointed. We waited quite a while to return only to find the tearoom we grew to love is no longer the same. Entering the door, we felt the tearoom lacked the elegance it once had. The servers assured us that the recipes were the same and we would enjoy our lunch. That couldn't have been further from the truth. The sandwich, salad, and soup (3 frozen meatballs) tasted like it was fast food and not fresh. We were looking forward to dessert and everything tasted frozen and dry. I'm not sure who is cooking and baking but improvements are needed to keep Serendipity's doors open. When we visited last May, we recommended Serendipity to our family and friends. After this experience with the higher food prices and lower quality food, we will be sure to tell our family and friends not to waste their time and money. So sorry to see such a sweet place going down the tubes.

- Liz B. 03/06/14

Tearoom Response
Liz,
I am sorry that you had a negative experience at our tea room. I wish you would have let us know during your visit that you were unsatisfied with your meal. We, at Serendipity, strive to create a pleasant experience for all of our guests. I can assure you that our food is prepared fresh daily, and I'm sorry that you were unhappy. In regards to your comment about our prices, they have remained the same since the change of ownership. I hope you will give us another chance. If you would like to give us a call to discuss your experience, we would appreciate your additional feedback.
Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I traveled over an hour to get to this tea house. I was not disappointed when I got there. The server was so attentive and her suggestions dead on. I felt like I was at home here instead of in somebody's tea house. I took a friend who's never been to a tea. She is a very picky eater and for her to eat EVERYTHING given to her speaks volumes to the taste and quality of the food. Never met the previous owners, but the new one is delightful and I really enjoyed talking with her and the server after our tea was over. Experience was well worth the time spent to get here. I will definately be going back here again.

- paulette Blanks 01/22/14

Tearoom Response
Paulette,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you had a great experience at the Tea Room. Love to welcome you back soon!

Connie
Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I traveled 2hrs with a friend to this very delightful tea room. A+ on the decor. The food was wonderful. The butter pecan scone was truly the best scone I have had in all the tea rooms I have visited! (and that's a lot)
The server was very personable & attentive.
It was definitely worth the trip & we plan to go another time.
And those who have mentioned former management no longer there, give the new management a chance, I believe you will be satisfied.

- Becky 10/02/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I was so sad to learn the tearoom is under new management when I went for lunch. We have been coming to the tearoom for a few years now. Luckily, it looks the same and Nancy is still there, but it just feels different. Just want to tell the Pieris we miss you and wish you well. It's just not the same without you.

- Mrs. Black 08/25/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

We have been visiting Serendipity for a few years now and were saddened to learn that Piper and Don decided to sell the tearoom. Celebrating our birthdays there has become a family tradition. From Piper's delicious menu and attention to every detail to Don letting us sample the wonderful desserts and ice cream, we will truly miss you. Thank you for always making our family visits so amazing. Best of luck.

- Kara Klein 08/12/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

Serendipity Tearoom was a Wonderful place to visit. Good Luck to Piper & Donny now that they have sold the Tearoom. We will always remember having Lite Tea at 'Our Table.' We enjoyed coming from the very beginning all the way up until the day they closed their door for the last time.
Piper always had delicious food and paid close attention to every detail of the meals and decour in the tearoom. That's what made it SO SPECIAL. She was so attentive and made everyone feel they were the only people there. Piper definitely deserved all the great reviews and awards she recieved over the years. No one can say Serendipity Tearoom without thinking of Piper Pieri. I know our memories will always be CHERISHED. Thankyou so much Piper.
Lots of Love.

- Joanne & Lee 08/08/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

We have been going to Serendipity for a few years now and were so upset when we heard the news that Piper had sold the business. Her attention to every little detail is spot on and her food delicious. Best of luck ~ Serendipity will not be the same without you! The Chandler Sisters

- Marion Lowery 07/30/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for supporting us these past 5 years. We regard so many not only as customers, but as our dear friends. Serendipity has become a memorable part of our lives. We have overcome pitfalls and used our imaginations and talents while building a successful restaurant that we hope our friends have enjoyed and come to cherish as much as we have. Selling the tearoom was an extremely difficult decision. We will take our wonderful memories and feelings of success and accomplishment with us. We sincerely want to thank Lyric & Kaitlyn, Megan, Dena, Nancy, Jenn, Bridgette, Leah & Kate for your love and support. We could not have done this without your talent and dedication. We are so proud of what we have accomplished together ~ we made a g... (more)

- Piper & Donny Pieri 07/26/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

I ate here today with my Mother and daughter. We have eaten at many tea houses in the area, and we have all three agreed this one is at the top of our list. The food was superb. Piper and Nancy were wonderful, friendly hostesses. Even though Serendipity is about a 50 minute drive for us, we will definitely make a return visit.

- Marlene 07/20/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

It was a wonderful surprise to have such a quaint, lovely tea room right here so close to home. My first experience was SURPERB!! The service, décor, food, and especially the blackberry/pomegranate tea was beyond my expectations. A perfect little restaurant.....THANK YOU for making my half Birthday a truly a Happy one! Can't wait to come back!!

- Barb Polaski 06/29/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

My mother and I recently visited Serendipity for a Mother's Day lite tea. We had never been there before, but heard so many great things (all of which were true). Our server was friendly, quick, and fun (she even took our picture at the table). The food was delicious from the scones to the sandwiches. Piper was an excellent host and made us feel so welcome. The decor was beautiful and vintage, there were so many details to appreciate. We had such a lovely time and plan on coming back for lunch very soon.

Thank you so much for a wonderful Mother's Day!

- Tiffany Dolan 05/14/13

Variety:     Artistry:     Service:     Food:

We visited this lovely venue for a special lunch. The high tea was delicious and beautifully served. The owner visted our table and Kate treated us like royalty. It is so nice to find a charming spot in the Mon Valley. We will be coming back.

- Rebecca McNaulty 05/05/13