Login or Register
victorian

A Taste of Britain

 (63 reviews)

503 W Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087, USA 610-971-0390 Website Owner?

Sun 10:00am – 5:00pm Mon 10:00am – 5:00pm Tue 10:00am – 5:00pm Wed 10:00am – 5:00pm Thu 10:00am – 5:00pm Fri 10:00am – 5:00pm Sat 10:00am – 5:00pm

Recent reviews

    • Anonymous

      

      Wide variety of tea. Traditional tea sandwiches. The best, freshest of any around. Scones, pastries, English dishes. Beautiful China, lovely waitstaff. British goods store on entry. Homemade British foods and imports. Quintessentially delightful.

    • Nicole

      

      I have become addicted to the experience of this place. It is wonderful to go and relax with good food and excellent tea.

    • Diana Mulhern, West Chester

      

      Everything was mediocre. Scones were a bit dry and not enough spreads.

    • Anna

      

      I have not been here for a very long time (years). Had an enjoyable tea with excellent food and beverages. Liked that there were three different choices of iced tea and scones. In fact, the lemon scones were delicious. The wait staff were cheerful and the owners were delightful. Hope to come back again!!

    • A

      

      Always welcoming, delicious, bright, cheery and fresh! I have been coming to ToB for 15 years and it is consistently good. I urge you to relax in this escape to a slower pace. Having visited many tea rooms in the US and Europe, I am always happy to come home to this one!

    • woods

      

      I have been to this tea room many time. after seeing the comment below about the extra help I decided to comment as well. I agree with the comment about great food, great teas, all the waitstaff is very friendly. however I have been there on several occasions and there is an older gentleman at the front. I asked for a table and he seemed to have no idea what's going and gave me a sneer attitude back when I said I had no reservation, and he looked at me like how dare I ask for a table with out a reservation. he was rude to a server that was trying to help him and ignoring other customers. I really like this place but if walked in and saw he was there I would not stay.

    • Anonymous

      

      Good afternoon tea, nice variety of tea sandwiched, mini pastries sometimes lacking, nice selection of excellent scones, nice variety of food. Bright interior with clean, modern lines, fresh flowers on every table. Service is excellent from regular staff, however lacking when dad is 'helping' out.

    • Patricia Watling, Villanova

      

      This tearoom recently changed hands. We could tell. Please try a bit harder.

    • Anne McMann, NorthWales

      

      Was not impressed with anything.

    • RDeFelice

      

      My mom, daughter and I have always enjoyed your restaurant. I've been coming there for years. My husband and I came to the Christmas tea and it was excellent. Your mini pastries were phenominal.

    • Katie Myers, Pottstown, PA

      

      We usually visit Coventry Tea Room or Simpson House as they are closer to home (Pottstown). We had someone at Bryn Mawr hospital so we stopped here for lunch on the way home. Big mistake. Coventry's food is much better (cream puffs to die for not pathetic mini desserts) and Simpson's variety of teas make this place's selection pathetic. Get real and get in the swing.

      Tearoom response:

      I’m really sorry you were disappointed in our food. We do have some regular desserts in addition to the mini pastries; however, I will definitely make sure we work on a better selection in our mini pastries. We may not be as large as some of the other great tea rooms in the area, but we do carry over 40 types of tea. I’m sorry you weren’t happy - I hope you’ll try us again sometime and we’ll do a better job.

    • Danielle

      

      While visiting Villanova one weekend, my friend and I visited A Taste of Britian. We had such a wonderful experience, starting with the friendly service and lovely atmosphere. The tea house is not cluttered but instead has a welcoming, clean and open layout. The selection of teas is great; many different and interesting options. We ordered lunch from the menu and we shared a plate of tea sandwiches, scones and pastries. The food was fresh, display was beautiful, and the scones were amazing!! Great flavors! We loved the selection of desserts too, defintely made fresh. I was very impressed and I've been to many tea houses in PA and NJ. I would highly recommend a visit to this tea house and look forward to another enjoyable afternoon there.

    • Samantha Berringer, Exton

      

      Very disappointing and over-priced.

    • Ann Richardson, Lafayette Hill

      

      Where do I start? I always enjoy going to new tearooms and give the benefit of the doubt. However, this was the worst tea experience I have ever had. From the beginning, I was not impressed with the aura of the tearoom itself. No linen tablecloths or linene napkins (paper napkins are used), no flowers or even silverware on the table. We had to chase flies (I know they are in and out with outside seating but still) and even had to kill a yellow jacket who was bothering our table. Our tea came overbrewed with the leaves left in the pots so was unpalatable to drink especially for a second cup. Our waitress completely disappeared after delivering our food; we didn't even have a fork or knife to use on the scones or mini desserts! Speaking of the scones, both the buttermilk and the raisin were very overdone; we thought the raisin had both sultanas and regular raisins but it was just the raisins burnt on the outside. Chicken salad on the tea sandwiches was very unappealing (tasted old, cheddar cheese sandwiches were dry, the roast beef was ok even cream cheese with olives wasn't very tasty. The mini desserts were not very tasty either: two brownie bites which were dry, some kind of shortbreads and two petit fours with oozing icing. All in all, a very disappointing experience. My friend and I actually went and had a snack down the road as we certainly were filled and satisfied with our meals. For $18.00 per person, I truly felt cheated.

      Tearoom response:

      I’m sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. Your visit was before I took over the shop. I think the previous owner normally did a wonderful job, so maybe you just came on an off day. Regardless, we have made a few changes in 2012 that do address some of your concerns. We now have linen napkins and are setting the table with silverware, and I try my best to keep fresh flowers in all the vases. Our raisin scones actually do have both regular and golden raisins, but it’s our job to make sure they’re not overcooked for you. Again, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit, but I hope you will try us again.

    • Ann

      

      I loved the location of the tearoom and the ambience.Food tasted okay,but I wish there was more options to pick and choose in the full afternoon tea.

    • S.C.

      

      Our usual room is Simpson House but it was a Monday when they were closed so we landed here. My major complaint is that they did not respect the tea. Ours smelled and tasted of paper box and was bitter. I would guess it was old. Tea leaves were left in the pot during your meal to develop tannins that needed quite a bit of milk and sugar to overcome the grab your throat sensation by the end. Service was slow and our waitress actually sneered at us when she was not busy looking bored. We had to ask for cutlery and napkins as we were not given one for each of us and they were at least 10 mins. in arriving. At that point we had the melting icing from the cakes all over us and got desperate enough to want to pilfer some from the table nearby. We were first at the counter and taken care of third which was odd and rude. The food consisted of purple petite fours that had the icing sliding off onto the plate, a brownie that was good, a small cake that was tasteless except for the overly sweet chocolate dollop on top. We were so disappointed in the food, we ordered a peach scone that was done well enough, although the lemon curd was almost liquid. Perhaps the kitchen was too hot that day? The room was pretty with a lovely pressed metal ceiling and in a good location. The chairs did not fit under the table leaving guests who tried to pull a chair in, splashing tea around and bumping knees into the table legs. We will not be returning. Tea at home is a better option.

    • Maria. W

      

      It was our first time going to this tea room and we were very pleased. Our server was very helpfull in answering some of my questions about the menu. We ordered the full afternoon tea and we were not disappointed. The scones were very large that we couldnt even finish them. We were both in a good food coma by the time we left. I will going back soon to share with more friends.

    • CakeLadyPHX

      

      just an average place with an average cuppa tea.

    • Olivia, Paoli

      

      Used to go to the old location....this was very disappointing.

    • Sarah

      

      This was my first visit here. I have never had whole leaf tea before however I really enjoyed the change. They were accommodating to my dietary needs and fulfilled them perfectly. The atmosphere was pleasant and peaceful though a very busy road is near by. I will defiantly come again and highly recommend it.

    • Ann Merkle, Media

      

      I loved the old location and tea room. This was disappointing.

      Tearoom response:

      Im sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable time during your visit here at A Taste of Britain. We consistently stride to be the best and would like to hear specifics about what you did not like, so we may try and improve. We would greatly appreciate your response and will take any suggestions in to consideration. I hope you will try us again some other time. Please contact us at 610-971-0390 if you would like to speak to the manager at any time.

    • Suzanne Wakefield, Devon

      

      Bring back the old location and the old food and service!

    • Laura

      

      My mom and I had made a tradition of attending Taste of Britain at the old location on Berkley. Now it has a new owner who has named it Cuppa, and sadly it's up for sale! We loved the 'cottagey' feel of that place and all the British groceries, teapots, etc. We tried Taste of Britain in its new location last spring. It was not the same. The food was ok, but we cannot tolerate a noisy atmosphere. The restaurant is too large for 'one open room' so there is no cozy feel to it, and nothing to stop the loud sounds from people talking, etc. Too bad.

      Tearoom response:

      Hi Laura - I'm so sorry that you had a negative experience in our shop! I hope that in the future you would try us again for tea - we strive to make everyone's experience pleasurable and special! I hope we can do the same for you on your next visit!

    • B.

      

      I visited a Taste of Britain today with a couple of friends. It was such a lovely, relaxing and pleasant experience for us all. The food was flavorful, well-portioned and presented. The establishment has an air of congeniality to it which puts you at ease to fully enjoy your time there. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. Wonderful experience! I plan to take a few other parties there for sure.

      Tearoom response:

      Glad you enjoyed your experience! We would love to have back for lunch.

    • Julie

      

      I recently met a few friends at Taste of Britain. I found the staff very polite and friendly. The food was excellent. I read some negative reviews on here. They don't reflect the experience I had at all. Maybe the restaurant had a rough patch in the past or maybe the reviews were written by unreasonable customers. All I know is that I shall return very soon.

    • Ava

      

      I had heard and read great things about Taste of Britain but hadn't been to the new location. I loved the new and modern feel and warm colors and decorations. I ordered the Summer Berry Salad and it was delicious and refreshing. Our tea came out very quickly and our waitress was engaging and very friendly. Our food came out within a reasonable amount of time especially seeing as they had a full house. My scone was warm and yummy one of the many reasons I will return to Taste of Britain and spread the word !

    • Lynn

      

      It was my first time coming to a Taste of Britain and i had a great time. It was a little hard to find but a great little shop. The food was great. I had the chilled cucumber and mint soup. Very refreshing and a new favorite. The tea sandwiches were a great complement to soup. I cant wait to come back and share with my friends.

    • B arbara Sierra-Franco

      

      A group of 7 of us women went there today, 4-10-10 with reservations. We had to wait until they prepared a table for us. We had a great waiter , but after placing our orders, we waited 1 hr. before the food was served. The quality of food was not the same under the old owner, the scones were dry..some of the women did not get the correct order. I had high tea along with 2 others. As i said before the scones were very dry, the sandwiches were skimpy on filling. The desserts were fine. We were so disappointed this time that we will not be back. The high tea was not worth $18.00. A birthday party was being held at the same time as our visit. They were given preferntial treatment..we were an afterthought. Too bad, I used to love the old tea room.

    • Pat

      

      They have moved to the Eagles Village Shopping Center at Lancaster (or is it Lincoln there?) and Conestoga Roads. The new place is nice with a fresh feel but lacks the charm that comes with fireplaces and tablecloths. The tables were bare and the chairs not particularly comfortable so it felt a bit like a cafe. The tea sandwiches used only a white and a wheat bread, were stacked together and cut into quarters all at the same time so they stuck together--which was the only interesting thing about them. However, the scone was the best I've ever had! I'll go back just because of the cherry scone.

    • Mary Nash, Paoli

      

      Overall very disappointed. The move didn't bode well.

    • Beth

      

      I have been going to A taste of Britain for many years and i think they have out done themselves. I love the new shop, looks, food, and staff. Every time i go i am greeted with many smiles and i feel right at home. Great place to sit and have a relaxing cup of tea with a close friend.

    • Rachel

      

      This tea room is quite lacking when compared to previous years. I have been going to this tea room with my family for over 10 years. It has progressively become less and less 'British' and more and more 'mainline'. None of the staff (or owner) are British anymore. All of the waitresses seem like they would rather be somewhere else and have poor attitudes. And the prices have gotten absolutely ridiculous!

    • Alison Flick

      

      I have been going to this tea room for quite a while now and have never been disappointed. My two daughters absolutely LOVE going to have tea here as I do as well. The tea sandwiches and pastries are delicious and there are a variety of teas offered. It makes the experience even more lovely having loose tea and using a silver strainer. The staff and service are wonderful. They know exactly what my two daughters like to eat and how they like it served. My youngest daughter loves it when they bring her the kitty cat teapot filled with milk or hot chocolate. We have been to many area tea rooms and A Taste of Britain is, by far, our favorite!

    • Nigel Warner

      

      I looked for a nice tea room in the area and frequented the original place on route 30,the Taste of Britain tea room then open in Berkley Road and has been a fovourite of mine for many years.It is a place that is tranquil with a nice decorum. Service is good,sandwiches are 'yummy'and the tea served with original tea leaves and the requisite tea strainer are a must! In all give the place a try you will not be disappointed and all the staff are great especially the red head with freckles!!!

    • Craig

      

      Sunday Brunch ~ Best Omelette I ever had!:-)

    • Flora

      

      Very good, and affordable. The place is small, but cozy. You don't need a reservation for a full afternoon tea. The staff is friendly. And I liked their gift shop. :)

    • Laura

      

      Excellent tea and food! They appeared to have a good range of loose teas - we opted for one of the specials, Christmas Tea. The Cheshire Club sandwich was delicious, as was the Blueberry-Walnut scone. Service was prompt and pleasant, even with a full tea room. Decor was pleasantly informal and welcoming. What a great find! Will definitely go again!

    • Diana

      

      The newly redecorated tea room is so nice and cozy. I had the carrot soup - delicious! I followed my meal with the special dessert of the day, a warm apple crisp. Everything was superb! I can't wait to go back for Sunday brunch starting in the new year!

    • Stacey

      

      The tea and atmosphere is wonderful- soups always great for a cold day. A great selection of british goods are here as well.

    • H.Wilson

      

      A quaint little place with kitchie decor and tight spaces, but overall adorable. The food selection is very good when compared to other tea rooms I've visited. Everything we had was delicious, and we loved the little store with the British delights that you can purchase. Only downside - the service wasn't really prompt or speedy, so if you go with the mind set of having to wait for it, then you'll be just fine. Even with that said, I plan on going back again.

    • H Baker

      

      We visited to celebrate a birthday, and had a wonderful experience! The menu and specials presented a variety guaranteed to please any appetite. The teas on offer were plentiful. I can't recommend Taste of Britain enough!

    • Alex

      

      There is always this red head with freckles that seems so fake and is obviously just there to get money and leave.

      Tearoom response:

      I just noticed your comment- can you please explain why this was posted on-line. The comment seems quite nasty.

    • SPK

      

      This teashop is a lot of fun. Even on busy Saturdays, the waitresses are always kind and friendly. My daughter and I have been coming here for years. We miss Marie (the previous owner). She always had a smiling face and knew all the customers by name.

    • Kate

      

      Yes parking is difficult but this is a nice place for high tea. It is not 'swamky' but has a homey feel to it like you are in someone's home- it is low key - if you are looking for the Ritz, this place isn't it. I think there are many snobby people who live on the mainline who wrote unkind & unfair things about T.O.B. The place is NOT dirty. I guess because it is low key and homey people want to be mean. The scones and sandwiches and pastries for high tea were good. The scones are enormous. The mainline is full of pretentious snobs and snobby places. Taste of Britain is home style and low key. It doesn't have an attitude. That's why I LIKE it!

    • Kathleen

      

      Our scones were cold in the center as if they had been frozen. The place could use a good cleaning. If what the customers see is not up to snuff-then I worry about the backroom.

    • Jeannette

      

      Came on a cold winter day and it ws freezing as they ran out of oil. They should have closed but we stayed sipping hot tea and they brought in a space heater, quite memorable as a 'cold' tea experience

    • Joanne

      

      This tearoom in Devon, PA did not feel clean to me. The table was set with cups and mismatched saucers. There was a small dirty water vase of dead roses on the table. Crumbs, etc., on the hardwood chair. The scones were so hard, I thought I would break a tooth. Would not return, or recommend

    • SEB

      

      As a Brit living in the US I recently visited with friends. We were thoroughly disappointed with the atmosphere, decor and poor food. Not authentically British. I would not recommend this establishment.

    • CMB

      

      wehave been going to thios tea room for the last 7 years, first at the other location, now where they are presentlty located. i bring my inlaws, who are from Great Britainm now living in states. They are always pleased to go, and enjoy the british atmosphere. They always order a few cornish pasties rto bring home, i have always enjoyed it, nice warm atmospheere. Tne waitresses are no longer Brits ( as they were a few yrars back)but the service is always polite and cheerful. devon, PA

    • Tracy and Bev

      

      Visited over a year ago, but doubt improvements have been made. Found the decor tacky with unsteady tables and chairs. Parking is difficult. No atmosphere. The gift shop had a nice selection but seemed a little overpriced. Food unremarkable. Would not go back.

    • Madeline Christenson

      

      The tea sandwiches are outstanding and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was quiet and comfortable. They also sell a wide array of English 'goodies'.

    • Lynne

      

      I have been here many times taking my friends and had my daughter's 16th birthday party here. Everything is always exceptional, the help is friendly and the atmosphere civilized. Prices are moderate and there is a selection is you don't really want a full English tea. After having tea, we always roam around Waterloo Gardens.

    • DEBBIE WYATT

      

      THIS IS A GREAT PLACE FOR A LADIES LUNCH !!

    • AMY

      

      GREAT SCONES. ESPECIALLY THE LEMON. GREAT QUICHE AS WELL.

    • Avalon

      

      Based on reviews we'd read, My mother and I looked forward to tea here. We were thouroughly disappointed. Floors were dirty, walls need painting, china was a knock-off paste not English porcelain. Scones were not like English scones at all, more like muffins. Waited 1/2 hour for tea (no cozy), waited 45 minutes for tea (soup and tea sandwiches loaded with non-traditional mayo). Received the wrong order - there were only three tables left at this point. While the scones and pasties were certainly not 'British', they were fresh. Soups and salads were excellent.

    • Mother & Daughter

      

      The atmosphere is warm and casual. There is a great selection of leaf tea, brewed to perfection, served in lovely china cups. The scones are excellent, and the tea sandwiches brought back memories of a visit to Dublin. The soups, quiches, and pastries are wonderful. Definitely worth the trip. There's a nice gift shop, also.

    • LizS

      

      My husband and I have been enjoying a Taste of Britain for the past 2 years. Good food, relaxed atmosphere. However, we were recently turned away by the waitress because we came in with our sleeping infant in a car seat. We were told there was no room in the restaurant when there obviously was. We were shocked at the treatment (we've seen babies and young children in there before). We will not be back after this.

    • NA

      

      This tea shop is very charming and cozy- a great selection of china and british candies! Scones were warm and just perfect. Be sure to try their homemade soups and specials on the blackboard.

    • Katie Gibbs, Wayne

      

      Was very very disappointed in this tearoom. Food was way below average, tea selection was very poor and the service was slow and the waitress surly.

    • Mel Graham

      

      I have been to A Taste of Britain many, many times --always very satisfactory. Dress is casual, atmosphere is friendly. Feels like you're visiting friends. Have the Gingerbread with lemon sauce! Ahhhh.

    • Tea Enthusiast

      

      A wonderful place to dine and sip tea! The scones are 'too die for' served warm with homemade lemon curd, clotted cream and jam. Always a great selection of soups, quiches and specials...everytime I come here, I absolutely love it and have the best time!! A place not to be missed....

    • Tea Shop Lover

      

      I visited A Taste of Britain for the first time several weeks ago. It was a charming experience- possibly the best tea I have ever attended! The tea menu was very extensive - I had the decaf french vanilla and it was delicious! In addition, I felt the Full Afternoon was delightful - the scones are out of this world! Warm and moist - I wish I could eat one every day. My waitress was very polite and upbeat and made me feel very welcome. I can't wait to go back again!

    • D-97

      

      At A Taste of Britain, be prepared to encounter a true tea-room experience. This is as good as it gets, comrades. I have been to the Ritz Carlton, The Four Seasons in Philadelphia and Paris, and a great deal of other 'fine tea-rooms', and nothing has come close to the time, care and devotion with which their wide variety of fine teas are prepared and served. The atmosphere is that of a cozy British tea shop, but be warned! This isn't grandma's cat-filled living room. This is a fine establisment. I would reccomend being, if not in your Sunday Best, at least in something presentable. No tie or jacket is necessary for the men, however. The selection of teas is wonderful. Be prepared to try all sorts of teas, from the traditional English varieties to the most obscure of the far eastern teas. They are prepared wonderfully and served in the most gorgeous of tea-pots. The service is local and friendly, efficient and professional. When you first walk into A Taste of Britain, you visit a room filled with British delectabales, all sorts of fine china, british flags, and all of the most amazing foods you thought you could only get at Harrod's. If you've never been to England, and are dying for the experience, or if you've been before and are longing for your second home in England, come to A Taste of Britain. Their specialty is the Full Afternoon High Tea, with delicate petit-fours and scrumptious home-baked scones. All the food is hand-made, gorgeous, and most importantly, delicious. I forget exactly who said this, but a food critic in a local newspaper said that the quiche 'exploded with flavor' in his mouth. I'll have to agree with him. The quiche is some of the best I've ever had, and the soups are to die for. You'll walk away wishing that you could eat at A Taste of Britain every day.