TeaGO

TeaGO
OUR NEW APP

Download on App Store Get it on Google Play
Login or Register

The Secret Tearoom

 (25 reviews)

412 State St, Greensboro, NC 27405, USA 336-691-9820 Owner?

Sun closed Mon 11:30am – 5:30pm Tue 11:30am – 5:30pm Wed 11:30am – 5:30pm Thu 11:30am – 5:30pm Fri 11:30am – 5:30pm Sat 11:30am – 5:30pm

Recent reviews

    • Nancy lesh

      

      We took advantage of a living social deal and were very disappointed. The tables had no cloths. The 3 tier service was tilting. He hurried us so someone else could have our 3 tiered tray. The fruit was very small and included raisins. The winter hat cozy was dirty. I brought my mother in law and sister in law and was embarrassed of the experience.

      Tearoom response:

      Thank you for your feedback. The tea cozy was bleached good and proper, tea is a very staining liquid. Our trays have been tightened, and our fruit is now portioned controlled. Well, as mush as can be when making it in house. We do not however use table cloths for everyday use.I looked into the raisins, and confess we are at a loss. We have never had raisins in house so I can only think it was blueberries. I invite you to return. Have a customer give feedback I can use to better our service and your experience is invaluable to a restaurant owner.

    • LMR

      

      My husband and I took advantage of a LivingSocial deal for this location. While we were quite excited about the excursion, The Secret Tea Room entirely knocked our socks off! The Queen's Tea for Two was wonderful and the crab cake superb. Coming from two that harken from coastal areas, this comes as quite a compliment! We so enjoyed it that we have already made additional reservations!

    • MLH 2/17/2012

      

      Had lunch here today and thought it was excellent. The crab cake is definitely one of the best I have eaten in any restaurant. Ordered a pot of white tea and it was very good. The tea room is very eclectic and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Had the chocolate soufflé for dessert and it was delicious. Highly recommend eating here. You won't be disappointed.

    • Angela Howard

      

      They were kind enough to host an event for the Alzheimer's caregivers group. We tend to be a fairly stressed out bunch and all left happy! Great care and detail for those with gluten intolerance and other weight-loss and allergy issues as well. Top notch

      Tearoom response:

      Angela:Thank you for your dedication to your loved ones. We wanted to pamper you. Why? Because you oh so deserve it. We hope to host your group again.

    • GypsyRose

      

      I have never tried this tea room and I never will because the owners were very friendly to one of my friends, until she let them know that she was a Tarot reader next door at Eclectic by Nature. Suddenly, they would not talk to her anymore. So eff this tea room. As someone who provides refreshments and food to the public, you have to be kind to everyone. Everyone's gotta eat.

    • Kim W.

      

      I took my Mom out for an early Mother's day brunch and happened upon The Secret Tearoom. We love tea and LOVED the restaurant. We shared a pot of English Breakfast, had some broccoli & cheese soup, and shared the 'Just Desserts' sampler. Everything was wonderful. It has a very charming & cozy atmosphere. The staff were very knowledgable and friendly. My Mom and I have decided that this will be one of our 'special spots'.

      Tearoom response:

      Hi Kim:<BR> We are pleased that you and your mother enjoyed our little Tea Room. We look forward to seeing you again.<BR> Suzan Magee

    • jacqueline

      

      A near perfect visit.... a warm greeting...soothing music in the background...lovely tea...and yummy crab cakes. I hope to visit again when I am in the area.

    • Joan S.

      

      I enjoyed afternoon tea with my daughter recently and I found it was more a luncheon rather than a tea. However the tea was very well presented and the flavors of teas to choose from were varied and many. The food presentation was well done and served on lovely china along w/a varied selection of tea cups and teapots. And the food wass delicious --- the bread pudding unique and so good! Also the crab soup was very tasty. However, the smell in the restaurant was not so great due to the cooking of the crab soup. Not much can be done about that ---but perhaps an air freshener. The atmosphere was quite pleasant and the musical background was relaxing --- except for a selection that was rather cacophonous. The restroom was very clean and nicely appointed. The only real complaint is the back area of the tea room was not nice to look at ---a wire rack w/a variety of items on it that were not attractive and the noise from the kitchen was somewhat raucous. But I do plan on returning. hope they clear up that back area --- perhaps dutch doors or a curtain.

    • Regina W.

      

      Wide variety of teas available - most seemed to be 'bagged'. Interesting china - different cups for all in the party. Food was quite good - especially the chicken salad, tea-infused couscous & bread pudding. Whimiscal art & original paintings on walls interesting & bright. But back area of restaurant (behind the display case)could use sprucing up. That area is sloppy looking & does not integrate well with the cleaniless of the front portion of the restaurant. Service was helpful & knowledgable. I plan to return.

    • J Martin

      

      Food was great.. Best Crabcakes and Salmon. Love the slaw that came with the crabcakes. Tea was excellant.

      Tearoom response:

      Thanks J. We really appreciate your feedback. I use to be able to eat a crab cake at least once a week, but we sell so many now I hardly get to eat them. I hope to see you again real soon.<BR> Suzan

    • J. Atwater

      

      Very plain, and left little impression.

      Tearoom response:

      J:<BR> We are under new management as of August, 2010. <BR> I hope you will come by again and give us a try.<BR> Cheers,<BR> <BR> Suzan Magee

    • Sarah

      

      The tea was decent, however the selection was not great. The tea service was truly disappointing, and the food was awful. The atmosphere was very basic, but it was clean. Service was friendly, but extremely slow, and the server was not knowledgeable in the least.

      Tearoom response:

      Sarah:<BR> I hope you can come by again now that we are under new management. We have over 25 teas and know how to brew it. <BR> Cheers,<BR> <BR> Suzan Magee

    • K. Stiles

      

      Not the least bit impressed!!! Very plain to say the least.

    • Elizabeth

      

      More of a lunchroom. Hostess couldn't have cared less if we were there or not

    • Beth

      

      Nice, relaxing

    • Sandra Nichols

      

      not at all like any tea room I have visted. Very plain to say the least.

    • mo

      

      what a great treat! the tea was just perfect! service with a smile is such a nice change!

    • Cindy

      

      Adorable little place on State Street. Good food, great service and a very relaxed atmosphere. Not one of those stuffy tea rooms where you can't enjoy yourself. A great place to lunch, and enjoy a cup of tea or anything else you might want. Awesome desserts too!

    • Sheri Ellis

      

      Not at all what i expected in a tearoom. More just a downtown cafe in my opinion. Food was so, so and service was slow. It was clean and neat.

    • Joy

      

      I was not so impressed with The Secret Tea Room. More like a luncheon cafe, the decor is tacky, and the service minimal. Not a tea room you go to for the whole pampered tea experience, to escape to and be pampered at. But fine if you want to grab lunch with a friend.

    • Manny

      

      Why didn't I think of this site before? The Secret Tea Room should be called The Ideal Tea Room! My wife and I ate here and the food, service and staff were all exellent quality. It's NOT a secret that we love this place!

    • Misty Knott

      

      I had my daughter's fourth birthday party here. Everything was fit for a princess. The owner was great and very friendly. During the party, the adults ordered lunch. The soups and sandwiched are all homemade. Best potato soup I have ever tryed. I would recommend this place to everyone. It's great!

    • Teri

      

      I am so glad that I read the reviews before I visited this lovely tearoom. Not only did I enjoy my tea and lunch immensely, I also purchased a sampling of one of their specialty teas (Ice Wine Tea) to take home. The day I visited the soup of the day was white chili, and like the reviews before mine say, everything was prepared from fresh ingredients. I remarked to the co-owner that I felt as if I were in a quaint seaside village teashop in England. A very good feeling indeed. My only regret is that this tea shop is 3 hours away from my home, otherwise I'd be here every day! Please stop by and have pot of tea and then take a stroll down the lovely village street lined with wonderful retail and dining shops, just north of downtown Greensboro.

    • Madison

      

      The food here is amazing!!! Everyting there is homemade and is so good, service is excellent and everyone is cheerful. I would recomend to everyone!

    • Emily

      

      Wanted to go someplace special for my birthday with a few friends. The trip was well worth the time. The value is exceptional. The food is made from scratch and some of the best I've had. We have made several trips back since my birthday.