This weekend was probably my fourth visit to Tea on the Tiber in as many years. Previously, it has been one of the highlights of the summer, but it was disappointing this time, and, now that the town itself has lost many of its nicer shops and attractions, probably as a result of the economy, we are unlikely to return. The sandwiches were good, but for the scones to be accompanied by a condiment of powdered sugar mixed with water was appalling, even more so when it was described as 'our version' of clotted cream. We were advised that American guests complained about the real thing, so this was substituted. It would be infinitely better to serve butter or whipped cream! The desserts were equally poor - a chunk of mediocre chocolate cake, shortbread with toffee chunks and a slice of a seed loaf - and the boringly monotone presentation failed to excite the eye or the palate. I am sorry to see a place with so much potential being allowed to deteriorate.
Dear Rosamund, <BR> It was a pleasure speaking with you on the phone after reading your review. We welcome not only favorable reviews, but any suggestions our guests may offer. <BR> <BR> As you know, we originally opened our tearoom serving authentic English clotted cream. We tried to take heed to those who suggested they did not care for its taste-thus making our own. However, we believe your thoughtful insight warrants staying true to our original concept. We will, once again, serve authentic English clotted cream. Thank you for your constructive criticism. <BR> <BR> I religiously try to speak to our guests as they depart. I enjoy receiving feedback with great enthusiasm. I enjoyed, as well, speaking to the other guests in your party. I am pleased your guests were complimentary borrowing their desire for us to serve English clotted cream again. Unfortunately, you had a few more concerns. Although your comments were taken very seriously, I would like to thank you for your compliments on our tea sandwiches when we spoke. I believe your description regarding our signature tomato sandwich was 'brilliant.' Thank you. <BR> <BR> I do find that teamap.com serves as a voice for only a select few and is not representative of our many guests on a weekly basis. <BR> <BR> Again, I thank you for your comments that served as a catalyst for change. We do hope to see you again. As mentioned on the phone, please ask for me when placing your reservation so I may serve you well. <BR> <BR> Until next time, we will continue to serve our loyal guests, welcome new and relish in their heartfelt compliments that we receive daily. <BR> <BR> In gratitude, <BR> <BR> Terry Parkinson<BR> Tearoom Manager