TeaGO

TeaGO
OUR NEW APP

Download on App Store Get it on Google Play
Login or Register

The Picket Fence & Garden Tearoom

 (67 reviews)

103 Kings Hwy E, Haddonfield, NJ 08033, USA 856-795-5357 Website Owner?

Sun 12:00pm – 3:30pm Mon 11:00am – 3:30pm Tue 11:00am – 3:30pm Wed 11:00am – 3:30pm Thu 11:00am – 3:30pm Fri 11:00am – 3:30pm Sat 11:00am – 3:30pm
New Owner as of September 1st The Picket Fence & Garden Tea Room is a unique tea shop that offers uniques gifts. When you walk thru the picket fence and into the tearoom its like walking into a garden. Peaceful and tranquil. Come visit us and relax! Enjoy our afternoon tea or our scrumptious waldrof salad or try one of our homemade scones with devonshire cream and jam. We serve delicious homeade pies in the tearoom to eat. Also, you can pre-order pies to take home, baked or unbaked. The atmosphere is very casual and relaxing.

Recent reviews

    • Antonia B.

      

      We would come back to this tea room but the employee serving us was very , very rude . We were upset as we were celebrating our anniversary and traveled quite a ways to get to this location . It's a shame. When we told friends about our experience, they said they heard of same complaint from family members. This business feels likes it's going downhill . We go for that quaint feeling for tea but it felt more like a nasty employee trying to rush us out. We will not be going back.

    • Lori

      

      We have such a good time here! The place is beautifully decorated for the holidays and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The food is delicous, especially the mini desserts and the food is always fresh. I love the atmosphere i, it is delightful. I see some of the reviews and I will tell u I have been going for 10 years and time and time again is great. We will continue going there! Thank u Picket Fence!

    • Mary R.

      

      I went to The Picket Fence Tearoom with a good friend of mine and we experienced a most enjoyble afternoon. With regards to the tea, there was a variety of blended black and green teas, as well as selections that were caffeine-free. The sandwiches were freshly-made, and the scone and mini quiche were flavorful. Also, gluten-free choices were offered as needed. The service was prompt and friendly, and we were able to have more heated water for our loose tea leaves upon request. The bathroom was spotless and the adjoining gift shop had many tea-related items that were both traditional and in keeping with the season.

    • Christina D'Intino

      

      It has been a tradition with my daughter and grandma to attend a lunch at the Picket fence. The food and pricing is reasonable. However, the hours of operation SUCK!! We always feel rushed arriving at 1:30. We like to enjoy our tea and lunch not inhale it. I recommend extending hours till 8 or 9pm on weekends. During winter months it would be nice to stop in a warm up with a cup of tea after shopping..

    • Karen Moscatti

      

      We just had a surprise shower for my daughter today. WOW! The presentation was beautiful. The scones were the best we ever had. Homemade and moist. The mini desserts were delicious! The staff was very nice. They couldn't do enough for us. We have been there many times before. We are regulars and love the food. That's shy we had the shower there. I tell everyone go there. I see some of the reviews don't even believe it.

    • Dina from South Jersey

      

      The mother and daughter team were down right rude and quite frankly obnoxios at best. Food was poor quality. Tea was cold. I took my mother for her birthday. What a disappointment! Save your money and go to another tea house that will appreciate your hard earned money.

    • Linda Yearly

      

      Unfortunately, this is where I took my mother to tea. The abruptness I received when making my reservation continued throughout the service. We weren't taken to the table, it was pointed out to us. Our tier of assorted tea sandwiches arrived, and without a luncheon dish, we had to eat off the tiered plate. The food was mediocre at best. The tea sandwiches appeared as if made by a child, cut unevenly with only half of the crust properly removed. the bread was cold obviously made and refrigerated ahead of time. Not an enjoyable experience.

    • Rachael

      

      The tea tea was delicious. I tried this place because of location. I love tea rooms. This is a make-shift tea room. You can see the toaster oven, open coke cans and loose tea in Rubbermaid containers in the back room. Not professional. The owner and daughter wear jeans and t-shirts and don't appear to have a fine knowledge of proper tea time. Plastic table cloths and a little boom box in the corner is not a tea room. It was a bit cheesy and unprofessional. I won't return to the tea room but I would stop in briefly to purchase the tea I drank. I looked online and found it there as well so I may save myself the trip. If this were just a shop I'd have nothing to say about it. However when posing yourself as a tea room a little research and etiquette will go a long way. In another review here someone (most likely the owner) responded. The unprofessionalism is outlined when she continued to argue her point to the unhappy customer instead of just apologize for the poor experience. Research and knowledge go a long way in addition to etiquette.

    • S

      

      DO NOT GO for tea, just gift shop. This is the second time I've been here with my mother-in-law (an amazing woman) & the second AWFUL experience. We waited 1 year in between experiences. When we came in, the owner asked if we had a reservation cause they were busy (no one was sitting at a table). I gave her my name, the time, & #of people in party. She said, I don't have your reservation & I said well I called on Tuesday. She actually asked, who did you talk to? And then, proceeded to act doubtful. With an empty tearoom & only one table set for approximately a party of 6, she proceeded to seat us in the worst possible spot in the way of the kitchen/bathroom entrance. We asked advice on teas & were encourage to try new ones. Fine, but when my mother-in-law asked to switch her tea because she hated what she had, the had the audacity to ask her to pay for a whole pot when she hadn't even drank a half cup, only one sip. She didn't switch & drank mine because we order 4 of the highest priced menu items to begin with. I asked for clotted cream over 6 times because the scant amount they originally served was the approximately size of a tablespoon total for 4 people. The sandwiches were underfilled - they made kensington palace look overstuffed. We had to beg for our pots to have fresh hot water added because they got cold. I'm very disappointed. This tea room is the only place I've been to with such a bad experience. The owner needs to stop being a know-it-all and realize that there are people in the town that are avoiding her place. Her nasty responses and high-handed attitude do NOT make for a relaxing experience. Nevertheless, her gift shop is lovely and amazing. She should just do that.

      Tearoom response:

      We tryed to find your reservation and just at that moment we couldnt find it. We did find it later. We always ask do you remember who you talked to so we could ask that person. There was no doubt in any way. As for the cream and jam. we gladly filled that for you. There is not enough for a larger container on the table. We do the best we can for our guests. any table is great. We seat according to reservation. Again we try to help our guests out as much as possible. We try to be very knowable for guests.

    • Rachel Garber

      

      This is a charming tea room that I discovered with my tea group, Victorian Ladies Tea Society of Philadelphia, have visted in the past. I have to agree with the statements made about children knowing how to behave, and going to a tea room is the perfect place to start. The adults that were there should have been paying attention to what the children were doing and redirect their behavior, not get huffy because they don't want their handpainted walls defaced. We had a 5 year old boy in our group and his mother monitored his behavior the whole time and it was a plesure to have him with us. If there were too many children for number of adults, perhaps a few parents could have been asked to help chaperone. We love to blame kids bad behavior on 'those people' as if 'they' are the only ones who misbehave, when in fact that is not true at all.

    • Joanne

      

      A planned trip to the area led us to The Picket Fence. Very lovely restaurant. One of the best scones we've ever had. Proprietor easily accommodating our no-meat sandwich order. Tea, scones, sandwiches and desserts all very delicious. Pleasant staff, very nice gift shop. Would definitely go again.

    • ndiauro

      

      children should be told when dining out that its an experience not play time. If they can't behave like ladies then they shouldnt be eating home where touching walls and being rude is excepted It dosent have to be in public places and should not be tolerated. As for moving tables. Try it in another resturant good luck.

    • Renee

      

      What a wonderful experience! We just had a wonderful surprise retirement party. The owner was wonderful and went out of her way. Her daughter was so nice and helpful. The whole group had a great time. The food was delicious. Everybody was talking about how they are coming back. What a great job! Thank You so much!

      Tearoom response:

      Thank You so much You were a wonderful group and we had so much fun with you. We looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

    • d

      

      What a horrible experience! We attended a Special First Holy Communion Tea Party today that was coordinated by one of our moms, who put a lot of time and effort into this, and was supposed to be so special for our little girls and turned out to be a dreadful experience!! The owner was annoyed by everything we did from having to move one table so that 2 little girls didn't have to sit by themselves, to needing refills on drinks. The owner should never have booked a party for 20 8 year olds if she didn't want the walls touched, or have them actually excited to have a tea party! The girls were amazed at the gardens on the wall and they were told 'don't touch the walls' The owner was rude and anything but curtious to us except when she was collecting the $ for the bill. She not once commented to any of the girls or even acknowleged what a special moment this was for them (who were all dressed in their communion dresses for this special day). She didn't say thank you for coming or even acknowledge us walking out the door. I would never recommend the picket fence to anyone! The previous owners failed terribly selling establishment to you and your daugher! It was a happy place when they owned it, now it's just sad. Time for you to pick a new career............

      Tearoom response:

      We apologize that you didn't have a pleasant. time. We as a resturant have to follow certain building codes and fire safety rules pertaining to moving tables. We have to follow. As pertaining to children. we love having children We apologize but our walls are hand painted. We were very polite and we did the best. We would be happy to give you 10% off on your next visit.Thank you for your feed back. There is always room for us to learn and improve.

    • Annoyed

      

      A friend made reservations for 11of us for afternoon brunch. Too vas zhe chiae ghis place. when we arrived the waitress said I want to hurry up and get your order.I have a large party coming in. Then I notice the young girl eating and drinking over our food that is on the counter in the kitchen. I walk over to her outside the kitchen area and the woman cook sees me and says you can't be here go sit down and shoos me away like a fly.Then I say can I just tell you something and she rudely says what? I said it is unsanitary for the young girl to be eating over food she is serving.The young girl heard me and apologized and said she should not have been doing that and she would stop.the cook who maybe was her mother got huffy and puffy and rudely says thanks for the tip now go sit down.Then she shooed me away again.how rude?to top it off my fiend found one of the cook's blond hairs in her chicken salad.it was her last bite and we didn't ant more drama so we didn't at anything.they gave us separate checks and added 20% gratuity which was not deserved.so much out for a nice day out with the girls.this lady needs to get some people's skills and I don't know how she gets away talking to people like this especially being on the main strip in Haddonfield.i recommend going somewhere where they value their clientele and no better than to eat and drink over customer food.Disrespectful all around.

    • leanne

      

      owner had attitude-just obnoxious. Poor service

    • Going To the New Leaf Tea Room Instead

      

      Today I had a reservation and right off the hostess had an attitude. Once they seated me, I waited for my daughter. She came in and we were ready to order but the server never approached us in the 15-20 minutes we were there. However, we noticed that she seated a party with kids, cleared off another table, and kept going over to another table. We got up and left, which we NEVER do. I just feel that if you need a reservation to attend then BE PREPARED for the business that comes in. I heard they were under new ownership and we figured we would try them over the New Leaf Tea Room. The New Leaf just got our business!

    • Anna

      

      My sisters and I stopped in The Picket Fence for lunch today. I have to admit I was dissapointed. I have been to other tea rooms and found this one to be high is price and lower in quality. There were only five of us and for the owner to add the tip to our bill was, I think, wrong. We have Never had anyone do that to us, in a tea room, before. Sadly, she did not remember she had done that when we paid. It was quite embarrassing when we were asked, so your leaving a two dollar tip. My sister and I reminded her that she had already added the tip to our bill. The charm and quality of a tea room was just not there. Would I go back...most likely not!

    • Camille F

      

      Everything was lovely! Very charming and pleasant service.

    • eileenmurray

      

      luved the atmosphere and delicious food at this tearoom. it was such a pleasant experience. sandwhiches and desserts delicious. tea was so good. would definitely be back when i come back to visit my sisterinlaw

    • Diane

      

      Delores .. many kind thanks for Tea today. Your Tearoom is charming! My friends and I enjoyed it very much. The sandwiches were delicious and I especially enjoyed the berry scone with devonshire cream! I will be back.

    • KA

      

      Myself along with a group of ladies left disappointed. The owner had the worst attitude. They should post a sign that says no NO KIDS. When we asked for water, she rolled her eyes and went stomping off. when we asked for another sandwich for a kid, she says with an attitude 'okay, I'll have to charge you' yes, we wasn't expecting it to be free! And several other displeasing moments. When I kindly spoke to her about it, she rambled on justifying her actions. However, the older lady there was very kind.

      Tearoom response:

      i am very sorry that you left disappointed, that wasnt our intention but when we see children left unattended and to run around a tea place where there is fine bone china that is no place to let them run around and touch. We do have the right to say something. We are sorry that you feel that way.

    • Marty

      

      I find it in poor judgement to comment on any of the negaitive feedback. Who ever is should really consider that this is not the forum to be catty back to a past guest. The response should be short and sweet. Not to actually go at it with the person leaving the response. You are not going to agree with them but you should take it in stride. A simple I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and that we hope you will still come and join us again. The comment I read I was willing to ignore but the replies were tasteless and were full of spelling errors and just in bad taste, and actually making me think twice before booking an upcoming birthday pary. I am scared to encounter the same issues, it makes one think that if your being so defensive that some of it may be true. Bad business practice. Becareful of what you put on the web, it can come back to bite you.

      Tearoom response:

      I am sorry you feel that way. I do have a right to come back with a response.

    • Leanne D.

      

      I was at The Picket Fence over this past 4th of July weekend attending my niece's birthday tea party. From the moment we sat down, both the young girl serving us, and the woman that I believe was the owner, were very short with us and not very accommodating. I attended with my 1 year old daughter. They did not have any sort of highchair or booster seat, which for a place that supposedly caters to tea parties and women in general, I found this very odd. There were about 10 or so of us in this party, and after being there for about 10 minutes, they came over to ask about our orders. We had not yet come to decisions and asked for a few more minutes. The owner then said 'Ok, well, we need your orders quickly because we really need to move you along because we have other parties coming in.' We felt this was very rude and felt extremely rushed. I am also expecting my second child, so I naturally had questions about the menu in regards to things I could and could not eat. When I asked about the tuna fish and what kind it was, I was met with a very rude response, from the owner, of 'I have no idea, I don't make it.' I'm sorry, but as the owner of a tea shop that also serves food, you really need to know what is in your food and what it is made out of. We were also given the 'up to date' menus and when I asked about their 'soup of the day' I was told that they do not make soup for the summer months. They also had a separate menu of 'wraps.' On that menu was a turkey and cheese wrap. One of the other guests asked if their child could have a regular turkey and cheese sandwich and they replied with 'no, that's not on our children's menu.' If turkey and cheese is on your regular menu, you should very well and graciously make a smaller version for a child. While there, I also took notice when two elderly women went to sit down, the waitress shot right out to them and said 'Um, were you told you can sit here, because you can't unless you were told you can.' Overall, it was not a pleasant experience. The shop may be busy and they might have had a busy day ahead, but that is no excuse to act the way they did to paying customers. I will never go back there.

      Tearoom response:

      We were very accommodating to you. First of all we are a small place and we dont have high chairs. The place is too small for that. We have childrens parties but for older as well as showers. As for being rude I can't even imagine. When the question was asked about the tuna the answer was given tuna celery.AS for the menue soup is only offered in the cold months due to the heat and people not asking for it. We explained that. We do know what is in our food. As for the turkey and cheese the waitress probably didn't understand what was being ask. We have always done either turkey or ham and cheese for children. We did try to be accomadatng to you but whatever we did for you it wasn't good enough. there was an attude. We are sorry that you weren't pleased. We are known for a very pleaseant and great experience. Especially the owner is know for excited and very courteous. Take care!

    • deefam

      

      I disagree with. Elaine,Carli and MA. first of all a tea sandwich is suppose to be small and dainty. If you want a hamburger you should go to Mcdonalds. secondly. a contrat is signed or given oral that there are no refunds on deposits for any reason. thirdly if you prefer not to have a certain sandwich etc. It is always gracefully replaced with something else of your liking. The new owner is very personable and willing to please we have had parties and catering orders and they all were wonderful. It is definitly one of my favorite places in Haddonfield.

    • Debbie Rigotini

      

      I just went on this evening to check out the reviews and I totally disagree with Elaine. I had catering done by the Picket Fence around the holiday season. First of all the food is out of this world. The tea sandwiches were wondfully filled and the dessert were really good. The scone was to dye for. It was so moist and melted in your mouth. As for the cookies I pick them up from the picket fence all the time for my child and have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderfull and courteous. NEVER HAVE BEEN DISSAPPOINTED. I APPLAUD THEM!! Go and enjoy the food it is wonderful.

    • Elaine Mc

      

      We had a tea catered by the Picket Fence. The food was awful. The sandwiches were indistinct and had hardly and filling. We could not tell what the filling was supposed to be. Some sandwiches were made with the end crust of the bread. The desserts were lacking and far from memorable. This was the worse offering I have ever had from a tearoom. Also, the packaged teapot shaped cookies were hard and one was so moldy when opened, it would make you nauseous. We have been to many teas and this was the most awful food so far.

      Tearoom response:

      Our sandwiches are distinct. All our sandwiches for the esception of our cucumber are mixed a distinct way. we fill each of our snadwiches with sufficient filling. Tea sandwiches are not to be packed thick. We have catered many events and have never had a problem. As to our cookies that are made by Pretty Sweet Bakery fresh and delcious. We can't keep them on the shelf long enough for them to get moldy. The dessert are made wonderfully as well. We have had many wonderful comments on our desserts.

    • S3 1 of the Tea Tarts

      

      Spent a delightful time revisiting this shop. The new owner was a gracious hostess. The scone was delicious. The sandwiches were tasty. I wish her well on her new venture.

      Tearoom response:

      Thank You so much! All our scones are made fresh and homemade. We are glad that you enjoyed. it. We hope you will come back. We love what we do.

    • M.A.

      

      The gals in our family gather annually for high tea for the holidays and decided to try a new place this year. We had to give a $50 non refundable deposit. We experienced a family emergency out of state, my brother is on hospice. I gave the tea house 10 days notice of the cancellation and requested to speak to the owner about the situation but she would not return to my phone calls, nor my mother's. We are aware of what non refundable means however I had hoped to explain the situation and reschedule the event. Again she refused to take the call or return the call. Terrible businesswoman who must think because she has a uniquie place of business in Haddonfield she doesn't need to courteous to her potential patrons.

      Tearoom response:

      The policy was noted . We do understand there are circumstances. We were never told that they were going to reschedule at all. They were welcomed to. As to the owner not responding she was not around at the time of the incident. There was a situtation that the owner was attending to. She would have responded right away. We are sorry for the inconvience but if the guest would have said that we might have been able to help out.

    • CArli

      

      this was my first experience at a tea room when we got there my mom told them i was allergic to cinnamon and that was ignored they were very rude and the service stunk when we left we left hungry i recommend not going here.

      Tearoom response:

      Not ever body is perfect. the waitress did not hear her but took care of it immediately. the owner came out and gave something else. The guest told the owner that this had cinnamon as well and the owner said serval times it does not ver nicely. As pertaining to the afternoon tea they order it is usually enough for any one person, sometimes people can't finish it.

    • Amy C

      

      I just hosted my sister's baby shower there. There is a new owner. She and her staff were very accomodating. The room was just lovely and the food was wonderful! A nice assortment of tea sandwiches, a hot mini Quiche, a fabulous scone and three small desserts on a two tier server. Each guest got their own server and everyone was satisfied. It was the perfect spot for a shower!

      Tearoom response:

      Thank You so much! We had so much fun helping and serving your shower. We love what we do.

    • Ann Foster

      

      I've been to the Picket Fence several timnes. I've always been pleased with the service and accomodations. I loved the teas and the sandwiches that reminded me of a more genteel time. I loved the china. The teas were fabulous. And they also will make tea sandwiches for home entertainment. Bravo!! Picket Fence

    • Jill

      

      The entire staff is extremely rude, especially the owner. If you look in the kitchen, you can see it is filthy! I sent back my salad because it was not freshly prepared. I will never eat there again. Extremely dissapointed.

    • Anila Hyder

      

      I am English and I took my 4 year old daughter,her friend and mum to have tea and something to eat. We found it to be very accomodating for what we wanted that was not on the menu. The staff was very pleasant. Will definitely return..My daughter loved her lemonade tea in the tea pot and serving herself tea.Perfect way to teach a girl to be a lady with manners during tea time!

    • Jane Schaff

      

      I went with my daughter expecting a typical afternoon tea. The staff was unfriendly, and mostly rude. The food was go bad it was ineatable. The tea was served warm. When we complained to the server she told us we were rude and asked us if we went to culinary school. What a horror!!

    • Jane

      

      Visited on 8/24/09 with my daughter and a friend. No trouble changing the sandwiches to meet my vegetarian daughters' wants. Five tasty sandwiches, small quiche, large chocolate toffee scone, clotted cream, jam, and 3 small desserts, plus whole leaf tea. We chose Decaf Vanilla. Lots of good choices. We were full and happy. Lovely atmosphere and pleasant waitress who I later discovered was the owner. Looking forward to returning.

    • Joy

      

      I HATED IT!!!!!!!!!

    • Sharon

      

      I started going to the Picket Fence several years ago with many different people, we all think the same, Fine a few years back but now... The amount of food keeps shrinking and every now and then the price goes up. It's a shame, we used to be regulars there.

    • S3

      

      For 2 years in a row, my friends and I have gone to tea in January. One time on arrival we were told there was a problem with the reservation, (not ours). This year we were told, on arrival, that we only had 1 hour for our teatime luncheon because they had a party coming in. It took the server 10 minutes to come over the table. The food was delicious. However, the service left a lot to be desired. Within 45 minutes the server kept coming back and forth taking things off of our table and it was obvious that they wanted us to leave. The guests for the little girl birthday party started to arrive. They did not even fill the room. But we had to leave. There are many other tearooms in the region where you are treated much more graciously. I will not be returning to this one.

    • Shelley

      

      My boyfriend and visited Picket Fences & Garden Tea today( 1/10/09). I've read a few negative reviews but wanted to try this place anyway. I am so glad I did!!! We were greeted right away & our server was very nice. My boyfriend tried the chocolate strawberry tea. I misheard the daily tea specials as chocolate, coconut & blueberry. It was actually two teas but the server said she could mix them for me. It was very good but I enjoyed my boyfriend's better which was very tasty. The food was bought out quickly and for what we ordered, The Afternoon Tea, it was pretty filing for the price we paid( five sandwiches, one scone with jam & cream, three desserts, plus tea for $15.95). Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely go back.

    • Rachel Garber

      

      I visited this tea room on 9/13/08 with The Victorian Ladies Tea Society of Philadelphia. We found the place to be quite lovely, the food was plentiful and delicious, and the gift shop was very nice with a wide variety of items. It was a bit busy, but we found the staff to be attentive, and the visit was wonderful. Unfortunately we will not be able to return. Most of us do not drive, and the 2hr 15 min ride on NJT was very difficult for some 'aging' bodies. However, I recommend it for anyone with a car, I'm sure the ride is faster than the bus was. What a lovely place to spend a quiet Saturday afternoon.

    • Patty

      

      When The Picket Fence first opened some years ago, it was a charming spot for afternoon tea. However, now it is quite a disappointment. The portions are small and the prices outrageous. The staff tends to be on the unpleasant side. The decor is lovely but unfortunately that does not outweigh all of the negatives. I have not been back and have no plans to do so.

    • Michelle

      

      I've been to The Picket Fence twice. Once with my daughter and again for a party. The tea and food was great and the room was gorgeous. My only complaint is the service. My first visit, the service was just okay, although my daughter and I had a vibe that we were unwanted there. The second visit, while the food was great, the employees were very rude. The woman who took our orders acted as if she didn't want to be there or do anything, and when a friend of mine showed up late, she refused to give her a cup of tea since 'The time we payed for was almost up'. As much as I'd love to recommend The Picket Fence, I don't think anyone should have to be treated so poorly while ordering tea.

    • Jan

      

      The service was fine. The portions were small & the sandwiches not very interesting.Not worth returning.

    • Michele

      

      I visited this tearoom with a group of ladies. The service was poor and the portions were very small. I would not recommend this tearoom to anyone and I have no plans of returning.

    • Disgusted Tea Patron

      

      Food portions were extremely small, even for tea sandwiches, the tea was average. Not planning on going back.

    • Susan

      

      My mom and I wanted to have tea here and the lady who took my call was nice enough to squeeze us in b/c the place was packed! I enjoyed the atmosphere, but I was a little taken back by the portion size. The tea sandwiches were literally one or two small bites - not exactly what I expected for the price. There was one round sandwich that was practically the size of a silver dollar! I thought the desserts were yummy and the tea was pretty good (although rather warm). Not in a big hurry to visit again.

    • Alison Perry

      

      The food was all prepared and there was no way to accommodate any special orders for food allergies, etc.

    • Barb

      

      It must be a bad month, because I had the same experiance

    • Cheryl

      

      What happened to my favorite tea room? The service was brusque and the food was a not terribly good. Everything tasted as though it had been frozen for a long time. I used to love the scones, now they are rock hard and flavorless. Maybe they just had a bad day.

    • Collen

      

      Took my mother for lunch today-and couldn't have been more impressed. Our server was most friendly (even with a busy tearoom) and addressed our every need. We settled on the Chicken Waldorf salad (Highly Recommended) and the Seafood Melt (Good). Both dishes were garnished beautifully and were plentiful!! We had to have scones (although harder than what were used to) delicious none the less. And our tea was divine-Cupids Arrow for me and Lemon for my guest. A+ for atmosphere, service and cleanliness. We will surely return and recommend the Picket Fence and Garden Tearoom to All.

    • Jennie

      

      I hadn't been back to the Picket Fence since the early fall. The atmosphere felt somewhat changed. The quiche and the scones, which I had raved about to friend tasted different, not quite fresh I guess. The service wasn't as friendly as I remembered either. Too bad. I used to really enjoy this place.

    • RJ

      

      A group of 9 ladies wanted to have an afternoon tea for our friend who had recently had a baby. We were told in a rather snooty manner that they would prefer that we did not bring in any gifts. The tea sampler was overpriced for the tiny little tea sandwiches you got. You would leave and still be hungry. (The chicken waldorf salad was excellent and a good portion). Each of us got our own pot of tea. The differences in size was unacceptable. I got 3 cups out of mine and my friend got approximately 7 cups out of hers. The scones were right out of a plastic container like the ones you find at Sam's. They were not fresh tasting either. The atmospere was sort of 'fakish'. It was no so cozy and comfortable as one would expect. The store in the front was wonderful though. Overall, I would not care to return.

    • helen

      

      This is our favorite tea room when we want to just have a relaxing afternoon this is where we come we love the atmosphere and its the best afternoon tea we have found anywhere

    • Carol

      

      What a fabulous tearoom. Have been to many, this is by far the best. Great tea, food and friendly staff.Owner is very nice and talks to all guests. Recomend to all. Carol and Peg Pennsville, NJ

    • Gail Harris

      

      This is a charming tearoom. The decor and ambiance is refreshing, relaxing. While I've enjoyed several items on the menu, the Waldorf Chicken Salad is superb... my favorite. This is a good place to dine with family, friends, or just to relax and enjoy by yourself!

    • Theresa Coia

      

      For the past few years, having lunch at the Picket Fence has been a special event for my daughter and I. The food and atmosphere are warm and welcoming and we have had many wonderful mother/daughter lunches. I am very excited that on MAY 12, 2007 from 12-2pm, my 14 year old daughter will be doing a BOOK SIGNING for her newly released fantasy novel, FALCON'S PREY at the Picket Fence during the Haddonfield Mother's Day event called 'Mom's the Word'. I would strongly recommend the Picket Fence for lunch or just tea and a scone. The gift area is great as well.

    • MeEncantaTe

      

      I was extremely disappointed in my visit to the Picket Fence. I have visited many tea rooms over the past two years and have frequently traveled quite a distance to spend a relaxing afternoon having tea, but this time I thought that I would stay local. When we arrived, the place was empty: not an employee was to be seen. After appearing a few minutes later, the cook asked us if we had reservations. Throughout the visit, only two other parties arrived. While we were seated, the cook informed us that our server had left the tea room to visit another store but would be back shortly. After our tea arrived, we realized that the water was tepid, but when we mentioned this, the tea was merely microwaved and the same tea leaves were used, making for very weak tea. The food was no better than the tea: the sandwich fillings were barely noticable, and the bread was prepackaged and store-bought. The desserts consisted of four store-bought miniature pastries, tasting like something from the grocers frozen food aisle, and there was just a sliver of a scone served on the dessert tray. We were not given dessert plates, making it very messy and difficult to eat. I feel that my visit here was a complete waste of my time and I actually left hungry, needing to stop somewhere on the way home to get something more to eat. I will not be returning to the Picket Fence and will discourage my friends from doing the same.

    • Robin Mecke

      

      My daughters ages 8 and 12 and I have been to this tea room many times over the past few years. I have seen it go down hill and I doubt if we will return. The help has been rude as we look thru the gift shop. They stare, frown, and make comments like 'Please don't touch anything' to my girls. The children's tea was very skimpy. It included a small piece of scone, 4 tiny tea sandwiches, and a cookie. It was not presented on the usual 2 tier server which the girls look forward to at a tea room. My 12 year old ordered a quiche with bacon and swiss. She received a quiche with peppers and onions. She picked thru it and ate the crust. When I asked if she could have a scone to make up for the mistake in the quiche, I was told they were saving the scones for a big party the next day. The waitress offered her a cookie. So her lunch cost $8.95 for a cookie and tea. We bought several items at the gift shop and asked if we could get a discount on a bear with a ripped dress. We were told no since the rip was only in the hem. I found the owner to be most unfriendly and she sets the tone for the tea room. Our last visit was in Dec. 2006. Robin 1/24/07

    • Justina

      

      I went to the tea room with my mom, sister and grandmom to celebrate my engagement. The four of us had a wonderful time. It was quiet, cheery and yummy. The tea was wonderful and there was a small but good menu. It was moderately priced and made for a great time.

    • Gina

      

      I took my nieces here for a little tea party, but a few adults as well. It was lovely, atmosphere is great, nice soft music, no rush. They were very patient with the children. Beautiful little shop in the front entrance. Delicious variety of tea sandwiches and salads. Everyone enjoyed the afternoon!

    • Elizabeth

      

      This tea room is a disgrace. The service is just terrible. The servers are not nice and are not dressed properly. The tea is not brewed right. All items are overpriced.

    • Joan

      

      WE ATTENDED A AFFAIR THERE RECENTLY IT WAS HORRIBLE. FIRST THE WATER FOR TEA WAS COLD, THEN IF YOU HAD HOT TEA YOU COULDN'T SWITCH TO ICE TEA WHICH I FOUND TO BE VERY UNPROFESSIONAL AND GOOD FOR BUSINESS..THEY CONSTANTLY WERE REMOVING THINGS WE WERE DONT WITH. ALL IN ALL I WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK I ONLY WONDER WHAT THE PRICE PER PERSON WAS BECAUSE IT WAS A DISGRACE. NOT GOOD FOR BUSINESS TO REFUSE A PERSON WHO HAD ONE CUP OF COLD TEA AND WANTS TO SWITCH TO ICE TEA THE WORD NO. ALSO STINGY WITH THOSE DUMB LITTLE SANDWICH'S WHICH WERE HARDLY FILLED. THE HELP WAS NOT EVEN DRESSED NICELY, BUT YET IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE A CLASSIE PLACE. NOT ME NEVER AGAIN, THE CHAIRS WERE UNCOMFORTABLE, THE TABLE WAS OVER CROWDED ALL IN ALL IT STUNK.

    • Anne P

      

      what a lovely tearoom quaint cozy atmostshere the food was wonderful the scones were the best I have ever had and the price is also the most reasonable too The childrens tea was the best it was so special and they have a wonderful selection of loose teas to choose from cant wait to go back!

    • bill

      

      The service was poor and the waitress very scruffy for a dining room. The tea was in bags and the water was not boiled to brew. We were given one tiny dish of cream for 3 scones (very stingy).We asked for the bill 4 times. Very poor service and over priced.

    • Kate

      

      We attended a birthday party at The Picket Fence. There was only one variety of de-caf tea available. When this tea was brought to the table it was only lukewarm and therefore not properly steeped. The tea sandwiches were modest but fresh. The sweets did not appear to have been made on the premises. The servers were quite stingy with the amount of cream each table was given despite requests for more. The servers were not appropriately dressed. Requests for ice water were not met for numerous tables. The company was pleasant but that was about it. Over-priced due to location in Haddonfield. I much prefer Penelope's in Pitman.

    • Diane Turner

      

      My daughter is having her second baby. I was interested in getting a few of the girls together for a little celebration.I was very happy that I chose the Picket Fence. The Food was great,the service was excellent they could not have done enough for us.My guest as well as myself found the atmosphere very charming.It was also my older grandaughters first tea, I couldn't have found a better place to share that moment when she receive her own,very first teapot. Thank you for a very nice occasion. Diane T 6/12/05