TeaGO

TeaGO
OUR NEW APP

Download on App Store Get it on Google Play
Login or Register
victorian

Dickens Tea Room

 (15 reviews)

3801 W Lake Mary Blvd, Lake Mary, FL 32746, USA 407-496-9008 Website Owner?

Sun closed Mon closed Tue 11:00am – 4:00pm Wed 11:00am – 4:00pm Thu 11:00am – 4:00pm Fri 11:00am – 5:00pm Sat 11:00am – 5:00pm

Recent reviews

    • Nicole Healy

      

      Left messages on answer machine no reply? Believe this place has shut down

    • Darcie : Lake Mary

      

      Has this placed closed down ??? It's never opened and they never answer the phone

    • Norah

      

      Ate here last week and was disappointed. Was not impressed with anything.

    • Janice

      

      Staff were polite but the food is of poor quality no taste nothing to tempt the palette

      Tearoom response:

      Hi Janice - We're very happy you had a good experience with the staff and the tea room, our apologies if the food was not to your liking. Besides the High Tea experience we offer a variety of gourmet sandwiches and house-made quiche and desserts. All are prepared on imported British bread which is much more flavorful than the US and no preservatives/less sugars. Many of our offerings (custards and the like) are imported from the UK so the taste is different than what most folks in the US are used to. I invite you back to try another dish. Please mention our exchange for an order of fresh made scones with cream and jam on the house! Thank you and Best Regards, Alaina (Owner) Dickens Tea Room

    • Vee Marra

      

      We went once and enjoyed. Not quite like to one in Sanford. Went back again and could not get in, cause closed for party, disappointed and have not gone back. Do not want to have to make a reservation to go for tea

      Tearoom response:

      So happy you enjoyed your first experience but our apologies at being turned away when you returned due to the private party. With the shop's small proportions we do not have a private room available for parties separate from the main dining room. Reservations are not required but if you call ahead we can ensure you don't experience a disappointment again should we be full (particularly on Saturday's, which is our busiest day). The shop number is 407-496-9008, we'd love to host you again! Best Regards, Dickens Tea Room

    • Pietro

      

      On a whim, after shopping we strolled in and what a pleasant surprise! The aroma and flavor of the oolong tea was just as the blonde server described it and paired well with my turkey cranberry sandwich.

    • Carroll

      

      My husband and I frequent this gem. I really enjoy their quiche and can't leave without a taste of their made from scratch bread pudding. Carroll

    • Marybeth

      

      I was extremely disappointed. Lack of British atmosphere ,the taste and texture of your food is nothing like it used to be. I was invited to your establishment by a friend and neither of us were satisfied with the food we were served. We have both travelled to England during our life time and what you serve is not at all like the English food we are use to eating. Your tea room is quaint but lacks British flair and flavors and recipes. There's nothing that is British not even the owners or staff! It was a big let down for us

    • Marybeth

      

      This is not like it use to be when the English lady owned it. It is very American with a poor effort to sell and make English food.The scones taste like biscuits and the food is very bland. The check was high for what we had and we left there unfulfilled. 2/10 :(

      Tearoom response:

      Hi Marybeth - We're very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Dickens. While Debbie, the prior owner, has moved back to Wales, my mother hails from Greenock, Scotland and assists in the business as we strive to maintain authenticity. The menu has remained the same with a few minor additions and Debbie was kind enough to leave all her secret recipes for us. Our food is prepared fresh from scratch or imported from the UK using her existing distributors

    • Paula green

      

      Over priced Staff are unhelpful Scones are hard We did not like the food or the tea room We may have just gone on a bad day But we won't be going back again We traveled a long way for this and was very disappointed

      Tearoom response:

      Hi Paula - I'm so sorry you didn't have a good experience. We at Dickens strive for excellence and great customer service, as evidenced by most of our customer reviews. In terms of pricing, Dickens is comparable to other area tea rooms. I did look through our customer list for the day but did not see your name. Reason being, I along with one of my staff worked that day and, due to the inclement, we were uncharacteristically slow. We do not recall any unsatisfied customers or complaints however it is always our goal to ensure our customers have a pleasurable experience. Again, my apologies if that was not the case.

    • Jenn

      

      We enjoyed the ambiance of this authentic British Tea Room! The staff was very knowledgeable about their teas and I thoroughly enjoyed the wellness tea, Pitta. It complimented the delicious Ivy's high tea service we ordered. I highly recommend it and know we will be returning very soon!

    • Diana

      

      My family and I went a few months ago, and we absolutely loved it. The decor is unlike any I have seen in the Orlando area. All the items on the High Tea menu were delicious. We just had a great afternoon.

    • Tara Braddock

      

      We visited for my grandmothers 91st birthday. We had the Ivy's Afternoon Tea for four of us. It was three tiers of deliciousness and the scones are the best we have had (even better than the ones we had in England). So much food that we had enough for later. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

    • Melissa

      

      For my 40th birthday, my best friend and I went to Orlando for a long weekend. Whenever we get together we go to tea and were excited about visiting Dickens. It was fantastic! The service was a little slow, but it's tea so relax! And the food items were incredible. They had a decent selection of teas to choose from, and the people serving were extremely friendly and knowledgeable - especially the British woman running the room. We both thought it was a great deal of food for the money and highly recommend it to teahouse people. Thank you for a lovely time Dickens!

    • Sharon

      

      The four of us went for High Tea in December. Spent $20 each. When the three tier tray was brought we noticed that on the desert level there was two deserts that had only 2 pieces. These were only two bites each. When we asked if we should have four each of these deserts and not two the lady said that we should share!!! For this kind of money, we each should have had our own bite-sized desert!! Over priced for what you get!! Go somewhere else!!