TeaGO

TeaGO
OUR NEW APP

Download on App Store Get it on Google Play
Login or Register

Cambridge Tea Room

 (36 reviews)

22 Street Rd, West Chester, PA 19382, USA Owner?

Unfortunately we have closed this location. Please come visit us at our sister store Simpson House Tea Room.

Recent reviews

    • Heather

      

      I have visited four tearooms in the area and this is my favorite. Not the best in ambience, but definitely the best selection of teas and food. It is still closed for now, but I hope it re-opens soon.

    • Pat

      

      The Cambridge Tea Room is in a store-front of a shopping center. The charm of a Victorian (or even old) house with a fireplace is therefore out of the question, so the ambiance is lacking. However the food was good, as were the teas. The service was acceptable, but a little slow because it seemed to be only one person serving the entire room. Worthwhile going back to, but not a favorite.

    • Elisabeth Traynor

      

      This is our favorite tea room to come to. Excellent food and choice of teas. Unfortunately, it is temporarily closed due to a family problem. I hope they open soon.

    • Ginny Hassler

      

      Fantastic selection of teas + great seasonal teas. True old fashion tea sandwiches are offered and are wonderful as well as regular sandwiches and salads. A delightful experience.

    • Ann-Marie Gabel

      

      All the makings of a good tearoom is here. Nice, fresh food, lots of tea to choose from, friendly owner and great scones with homemade lemon butter. Thanks Cambridge!

    • Rebekah

      

      I have visited several local tea rooms and this is my favorite. Not only is the food great, but the service is fast and friendly! Make a reservation!!

    • Kristin

      

      Cambridge Tea Room met all my expectations of what a tea room experience should include. There are an overwhelming variety of teas. Also, their food is homemade. The soups, entrees, and the chocolate chip cake are delightful. The daily menu specials and their standard menu are full of many choices. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, even though it is located among a cluster of stores. I would highly recommend for anyone desiring a pleasant outing for yourself or with friends.

    • Carla Di Francesco

      

      Great food, great tea selection and great service! What else to say? We love it here!

    • Isabelle Francisco

      

      We really like going to this tea room--I buy nice things there also. Very good.

    • Claire

      

      I'm a frequent customer to the Cambridge Tea Room and I love every aspect of it! The servers are always extremely welcoming and friendly, the decor/atmosphere is charming and warm. The food is always extremely tasty...my favorite is the Chicken Waldorf and any of their homemade soups! They also have a large selection of teas to choose from so everytime I'm there I like to try a new flavor. :) The owner is very sweet and extremely helpful when it comes to any tea questions! If you're looking for a nice relaxed meal and some tea I highly reccomend checking out Cambridge Tea Room...you won't regret it!

    • Kelly

      

      The highlights of this tea room are the very extensive tea menu and the scones- they are wonderful. The atmosphere leaves much to be desired- it feels like a warehouse. Another downside is the luncheon teas- the menu requests no substitutions.

    • Carol

      

      Last Friday, I enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Cambridge Tea Room with my mother and a dear friend. Our server was very pleassant and attentive to our needs. The dining area was attractive, and beautiful Christmas music filled the air. My mother is on a gluten-free diet and can no longer enjoy scones or tea sandwiches. The large menu selection at Cambridge offers a wide variety from which she can choose. We each ordered the Scottish quiche served with fresh fruit. We chose the Nutcracker Suite tea. Everything was delicious and attractively served. This was my sixth visit to the Cambridge Team Room, and I look forward to returning in the near future.

    • RJ

      

      Very disappointing indeed! From the absence of 'homemade' food and ambiance to the cool and inattentive service it is definitely not special and the fact that I took my friend there to celebrate her birthday rendered it embarrassing.

    • c smith

      

      I've been to several tea rooms, from very fancy (Ritz in Paris) to your average coutry tea room. This place was one of the worst. They do not offer a children's tea menu of tea sandwiches, did not have lemonade or flavored iced teas for children. Most tea rooms offer a luncheon plate of asssorted 'tea sandwiches' also assorted bite-sized desserts, they do not. It's just a lunch place that serves assorted tea beverages. Would NOT go back.

      Tearoom response:

      We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our store. We do have a nursery tea on our menu, offer iced teas & lemonade both as well as have a page of different tea sandwich platters. We hope that you give us another try and that you didn't get us confused with the gourmet cafe in downtown West Chester that is not a tea room.

    • Susan and Debra, West Chester

      

      Went here last week for lunch and even thought they were super busy, we had great food and great service. The scones are delicious with the curd and clooted cream. Thank you Cambride Tea Room!

    • Pamela

      

      My daughter and I have visited a wide variety of tea shops in Pennsylvania, from little out of the way shops to the Four Seasons & Rittenhouse. This is one of my favorites! Lovely setting, friendly service, an exceptional selection of teas and a broad menu (I'll be back for lunch)! The ONLY thing I would add would be a bit more variety w/ the tea sandwich breads and fillings (perhaps the addition of a shaved ham, smoked salmon, watercress, etc.). Fabulous scones!

    • Julie Sadowski, West Chester

      

      What a great little place for lunch! It doesn't just have tea sandwiches although they are delicious. My daughter had a great time. They had Harry Potter teas and she thought that was great! Its semi-casual and all the food is great! You can come dressed up and put on airs or just come casually dressed.

    • Gail

      

      My girlfriend and I love this place! The tea sandwiches are yummy (nice presentation too), and I ALWAYS get a scone with lemon curd and clotted cream for dessert. Dee-lish! So many teas to choose from too!

    • Pat Linthurst

      

      Love this place. Friendly staff that is well versed in the teas, excellent value and just a nice little place for lunch or tea. Make reservations and you will never be disappointed.

    • Mary McGuire, Exton, PA

      

      I can't believe that this little gem has been in my backyard for years and I didn't know it! Everything was excellent. And great news, they are opening a second place in Exton in a month or so! I can't wait!

    • Felicia Creighton

      

      I took my two girlfriends last June in for tea and we had a wonderful time! Two of us were taking my other friend to tea for her upcoming birthday in August which was the same time I was due to have my daughter! We found the food to be good and we ordered quite a few treats, the scones are to die for. We had HOT soup, warm quiche, lovely varied tea sandwiches, and the tea list is EXTENSIVE. The staff was very friendly in fact the owner and her mother came over and chatted with us. We had such a great time that I have just made reservations to take my mother-in-law for her birthday in a few weeks and my daughter will go along too for our first tea together! I was told over the phone they do not have highchairs and as we have a stroller and a booster seat that is just dandy with me. The only suggestion that I might make would be to request a sampler plate of little desserts be offered as I am a true dessert lover and cannot seem to make up my mind on just one!

    • Bretany

      

      I just got back from having tea at Cambridge Tea Room and have to say it was a wonderful experience. The food was very good, the scone and lemon curd and chantilly cream were wonderful. There were men dining there happily - so it's not overly fru-fru...and the portions were great. I couldn't finish all my tea sandwiches! I was happy we had reservations because when we got there it was packed. I was very happy and would recommend this place to anyone looking for tea. Afternoon Tea Luncheon which include 6 tea sandwiches and a scone was $8.95? Worth every penny.

    • Tamara

      

      They do NOT like children in their tea room. I got many nasty looks...and my child was the one sitting in her highchair behaving... I had to provide the hairchair myself! Must go to see Specialtea Tea House in Chadds Ford. They love children as long and they can sit and enjoy tea!

    • Patt Ferrari

      

      My large rambunctious party of 8 (including 4 first-time tea-goers)was treated so gracefully and cheerfully that we will certainly return (but maybe not all together!). The combination of food choices was delicious & plentiful. The tea choices are extensive & creative. And there's PLENTIFUL PARKING (which is rare in tearooms!)

    • Lynn Phelps, Malvern, PA

      

      Wow! A tearoom that actually has lots of tea! The variety was so wide, me and my friend had a hard time choosing what to get! Lunch was good too. The tea sandwiches were fresh and the scone with curd was sensational. Can't wait to come back.

    • Ginny Hassler

      

      From the minute you walk into this tea room, one is by transformed by the extremely friendly & efficient owner & wait staff & the pretty decor. The variety of teas is wonderful as is the knowledge of the teas by the owner. The food is absolutely outstanding! It is a treat to be able to enjoy authentic tea sandwiches. I eat there at least once a week and always have a wonderful experience.

    • Penelopy

      

      I would never go back to this tea room. My daughter and I went once for her birthday- what a mistake! The service was bad, the tea was cold and late, the tea sandwiches were miniscule, the food looked old, and the waitstaff was angry and diddn't even smile. The worst part was dessert. The desserts were pre-made and were still thawing. So the warm desserts were ice cold with shards of ice all on over it. A few friends had told us it was a great tea room. So we decided to give it another chance. Even more bad! The kitchen staff was screaming from the kitchen!!!! My daughter and I were the only ones in there too! Our soup was cold by the time they finally brought it out and it was just terrible! I very much do not care for this tea room.

    • Jessica

      

      What a lovely experience I had! Tea Sandwiches were so fresh and decorated so nicely. Great scone with lemon curd and cream. Would highly recommend!

    • Madeline

      

      What a nice tearoom to visit. The scones were so fresh & warm and the lemon curd and chantilly creme were excellent. You can also get regular sandwiches & salads if you don't feel like tea sandwiches. The peach cobbler was great too.

    • Bridget

      

      This tea room lacks quality. I was recently in and came out hungry. The tea sandwiches all had cream cheese and were the size of dice. The waitstaff was very uh-happy and scoweled at myself.

      Tearoom response:

      We are very sorry that you had an unhappy experience at our tearoom however, your complaints are ones we've never encountered before. Our normal assortment also contains egg salad & chicken salad and are well beyond the size of dice. We've had men that don't leave hungry. If you'd like to talk about this, please call us and we'll be glad to try to remedy the situation. <BR> 7/3/06

    • Anna Lynne, Reading, PA

      

      Wonderful place to go for tea. The scones were delicious and the homemade curd to die for. The service was quick and efficient even though the place was packed. I would recommend reservations.

    • Dr. Patricia J. Grayson

      

      For a delightful tea experience, nothing rivals the Cambridge Tearoom, just outside of West Chester, PA. The food is excellent, and the ambience reflects the gentle teahouses of the small and cozy British shires. The simplicity is perfect; the hospitality is warm and inviting; the house-brewed iced tea is superb.

    • a community local

      

      Lovely place without being pretentious. A throwback to gentler times. We make a point of going often. Wonderful food well prepared. Good teas. The owner makes an iced tea to die for and has a variety of loose teas sure to please a checkerboard of palates. Her teaware is interesting and fairly priced, too, so don't leave without at least two of her beautiful teacups and teapot to match! Her things are all over my kitchen and office...

    • Joyce, Jeffersonville, PA

      

      Visited this tearoom for my sixth visit, and again I was very pleased. The food is always good here, and the greeting was friendly. Service was excellent. This is one of my favorite tearooms, and I have never been dissappointed.

    • James Rideout

      

      service was friendly, and waitress, Charlotte Collick was a delight to talk to. You can count on my return to the Cambridge Team Room with groups of my friends after a busy day WELL DONE

      Tearoom response:

      Unfortunately, this glowing review is not for our establishment as we have no Charlotte here.

    • A.A.

      

      I must say that I have been nothing but pleased every time I eat at the Cambridge Tea Room. The service is excellent, as are the food and the teas. The wait-staff is very friendly, and they go out of their way to please their customers and ensure a very pleasant experience.