Login or Register

Past Tyme Tea Parlour

 (44 reviews)

6550 Greenleaf Ave, Whittier, CA 90601, USA 562-945-9462 Website Owner?

Sun closed Mon closed Tue 11:30am – 4:00pm Wed 11:30am – 4:00pm Thu 11:30am – 4:00pm Fri 11:30am – 4:00pm Sat 11:30am – 4:00pm

Recent reviews

    • Dee

      

      I drove by the other day and it's empty and for rent.

    • The English Lady

      

      I have been to many tea parlours on the East coast and Europe. So believe me you better be ready with the costs. It didn't surprise me to see my bill upon completing my visit here at Past Tyme. The hostess was very pleasant unlike the discription above. People treat you the way you treat them, I think these customers who were unsatisfied had it coming to them. Remember, the customer is not always right. And, owning your own business is difficult enough without customers treating owners without respect - it works both ways you know. I happened to be present when a few ladies came in and were so demanding and expected the world from the hostess without paying a price. It was not a pretty sight. Kudos to my dear Charlotte for putting up with these customers during these tough times. I will see you again soon for my regular tea, sandwiches and our chat.

    • Rebecca Gooding

      

      Very disappointed in quality of food and demeanor of new owner. Prices were increased and amount of food decreased. No one else was there which should have clued me in. Will not visit again.

    • Ali A

      

      This used to be one of the women in my family's favorite places. We hadn't been back in two years and will not be going back again. The owner charged $17.00 for one pot of tea with ONE (really, only ONE) tea bag in it, three tiny sandwiches, a tiny, dried-up scone, a small slice of Costco cake. Her attitude was very bad, then she dare charge not only tax but a 20% gratuity. Oh, another thing, we told her a child had gotten sick and would not be able to attend after all. Too bad...she made us pay for the child anyway. $11.00 plus tax and 20% tip for a small plate of cookies from the 99 cent store and two corners of bread with a bit of peanut butter on it. And don't you dare ask for another pot of tea or you'll be paying two more dollars plus tax plus 20% tip for the pot of hot water and bag of tea.

    • Michelle

      

      The last time I visited Past Tyme Tea Parlour it was owned by somebody else and we loved it!! We had not been back since it changed owners and thought we'd give it a try. I made reservations for a party of 3 and thought it was odd that she required a credit card number to hold the reservation. Overall, our experience was very disappointing. The food was ok, the tea was alright, and the customer service was completely lacking. The previous owner, an English woman, was so friendly. For me, the topper was getting the bill and seeing the gratuity already included in the bill and not 15 or 18%, but 20%. I thought it was up to the customer to decide, based on the service, how much gratuity to leave. I have never been to a restaurant or tea parlour where gratuity is included for a party of 3. Needless to say, we will not be returning to this tea parlour.

    • Grace

      

      How this place was ranked in the top 500 is beyond my comprehension. The place is decorated ok but the food was lacking everything from presentation to taste. We were given no menus, we were offered no milk for our tea and tea had an very weird taste. The scones were zapped in the micro and got cold & rock hard rather fast. I had such high hopes for visiting this tea house from all the reviews I'd read, but this was the worst experience I've ever had.

    • Rachelle

      

      I have visited this tea house three times and each time everyone loved it. Very nice china placesettings, good food and very quaint and nicely decorated room. Though not overly cheerful, the server Marlene, was extremely prompt and helpful. I appreciated the great service given by Marlene.

    • Dee

      

      I went with a friend and my 2 small children, had a great time and they were able to accomidate us without reservations. Will visit again!

    • Jose Vazquez

      

      I was surprised with the service and the knowledge of our server,Marlene. She was able to share with us, because it was our first time visiting a tea parlour. We had several choices of teas, I can't remember the names but we follow the recommendation of Marlene. I really suggest that you plan to visit Past Time Tea Parlour.

    • Vanessa

      

      This is the most recent tea room I have been to. It was quaint, enjoyable and my daughter and I had a good time. It is located in historic uptown Whittier, so it makes for good window shopping, too. I would return again

    • Susan Quesada

      

      I had both of my daughter's birthday parties here, when they turned 6. All the girls and mom's had a wonderful time. The girls still rave about it. When you enter the tea room you are hit with a wonderful aroma of scones baking. Nice ladies, good service, lovely tea room :)

    • Susan Hoffman

      

      We gave my Mother a Surprise 80th Birthday party for 20 Ladies.It was the nicest afternoon. The selection of teas and the food was superb. Marlene and Mary Grace were so accomadating and very attentative to our needs.My Mother's friends are still calling her and telling her what a great time they had. The ladies that couldn't make it are even calling her to let her know that they missed a great party...

    • Kerry Franco

      

      I have visited Past Tyme Tea Parlour on several occasions, one of which was my own baby shower. Every visit has surpassed expectations and has been so enjoyable. This is a wonderful place to host a shower or just to enjoy a ladies afternoon out- either way you will experience great tea, great service, and a great time with girlfriends!

    • Jan Kelbert

      

      From the moment you walk in, you feel a quietness.This place is small but every inch is used beautifully. You smell scones baking, see beautiful things around you and a tables perfectly set. The food was excellent and simple. There were hats, pearls and feather boas to wear. It is also a place to enjoy conversation with those you love. Thank you Stella for a memorable afternoon. Remembering you fondly, Jan

    • Josie Lopez Galindo

      

      Our time spent here was extremely enjoyable. The atmosphere and ambience are relaxing and time flies by so fast that before you know it, it's time to leave. The food is excellent and you cannot walk out without buying something!

    • Sara

      

      This was a huge disappointment. I felt like I was being served tea in a child's playroom. The young waitress was nice but the older lady (owner?) did not help her at all even though several of us arrived at the same time. The lady stayed on the phone on a personal call and wouldn't help us. The young waitress didn't ask what type of food we wanted but, instead, just started bringing stuff out that we didn't ask for. I realized that I could not stay and pay for a full tea even though we had planned to do so. The food that was given to us was not good. Fruit plate consisted of diced apples sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, grapes, melon balls and a squirt of Redi-Whip in the center. Not good. The 'scone' was like an overcooked large Bisquick biscuit--the worst I had ever had. The waitress had no time to offer us more tea. Again, the atomosphere was seriously lacking--4 little tables crammed in the back of a store. It would be o.k. for a group of 5 year olds who wanted to play tea party. Lastly, I could not get my bill. The waitress had to do all of the food preparation and, again, the older lady was on more personal phone calls and did not bring us the bill as the waitress said she would. I had to go up front and wait for her to get off of her phone call in order to pay. I tipped the waitress as I felt sorry for her having to take orders, serve food and tea and do all food preparation herself. She was sweet and should work for a more professional establishment.

      Tearoom response:

      Ms. Sara, Thank you for your comments. Past Tyme Tea Parlour as well as other tea parlours are not for everyone. Our dining area has seated up to 30 guests with no compliants. Guests who have had tea with us truly enjoyed our atmosphere of 'cozy and homelike' decor as well as the 'tea-size' portions of fruits, sandwiches and desserts. We do not serve large food portions. I guess if you are looking for that you may want to try a chain restaurant. When your reservation was made it was determined at that time what type of tea menu you and your guests would be having therefore the food selection should not have been a surprize or in your case a disappointment. As for the 'personal' telephone calls, no one should really judge as to whether it was a family emergency trying to be resolved. I have been to hundreds of establishments where the host/hostess' have been on the telephone and I never judge them because it may be me one day trying to get assistance to a hurt family/friend. I would highly recommend you try other tea parlours to find that perfect one for you. Again, thank you.

    • Monica Taylor

      

      A fun experience. Enjoyed the friendly smiles. Accomodated our time request. Will return again perhaps for another birthday experience!

    • Bryce Matthews

      

      This past weekend my wife and I were visiting out daughter in the states, when my daughter suggested that we visit a tea parlour that she and her friends frequent. I must say, I'm usually not big on tea but this was a rather delightful experience. It's good to know that my daughter hasn't lost her good taste since moving to the states. The service was friendly and we even managed to find a couple of nice momentos to bring home to friends. I'm sure we'll visit again on our next trip.

    • Martha B.

      

      I absolutely love this place! It has such a cozy and welcoming atmosphere. I've been to many other tea parlours and this is by far the cutest. After enjoying some tea and tasty treats in the hats and faux pearls provided, you can spend a while browsing through all the tea-themed gifts at the front end of the store. I've been here twice with friends and have had a great experience each time. I plan to take my nieces soon so they can enjoy tea time!

    • kim

      

      I am not the usual tea party attendee... some tasty scones, nice sandwiches and attentive service and im happy. My experience at Past Tyme was truly nothing to past time with... the scones were as Jennifer C, accurately described it, 'bisquick-biscuits' the service was scant and the hurried... luckily our group was able to entertain ourselves easily, knocking over the unnecessarily tall vase and dropping the lid into the tea pot... dim sum anyone??

      Tearoom response:

      Thank you for your response.

    • cherylinn

      

      I was at this tea shop a few weeks ago and even though she was alone and had to handle 2-3 parties, the owner (can't remember her name) was able to help and acommodate us all, we waited a small time, but given the service it was worth it. I have and will go again.

    • Jennifer C.

      

      I was referred to this tea room by a friend of mine and had high expectations. Unfortunately I was disappointed overall. When we first arrived, the lady did not know about my reservation and thus proceeded to tell us that she had just let her help go and that it would take awhile. We waited for about 20 minutes for our 'Bisquick' biscuts, another 20 for our child-like cut up fruits, and another 30 for our not so filling sandwiches. Last but not least, it took another 20 minutes for our store bought desserts .It seemed like she didn't have anything prepared at all, even for walk-in customers. There was only one other party of six there and my cousin had to leave because it took so long. We were bloated with all the tea we were filled with, but the total time it took was exactly 2 hours!!! Needless to say, at least I was with great company to pass the 'TYME' away!!!

      Tearoom response:

      Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were not a satisfied customer. However, although we only had another party of six at the time you arrived there were also other customers in the gift shop and other parties coming in for tea. I do accept walk-ins but usually not a party of six without assistance. Upon your departure our dining area had three to four more parties seated. It was, in fact, a communication error on our part and I apologized prior to seating your party that day. Since I did not have any knowledge of your reservation, I did need to prepare additional food while you and your guest waited. <BR> <BR> I am not sure what you expected but I find that many of my customers are very happy and satisfied with our traditional scone, fruit and sandwich menu. In addition, our customers have continued to enjoy our service, quality and quantity of food served which is a priority for us. Because of the ambiance of our parlour, our customers and their guests spend at an average of two hours together visiting but most of all enjoying the relaxing enviroment created for them. <BR> <BR> All Our Best -<BR> <BR> Past Tyme Tea Parlour & Gift Shop <BR> <BR> <BR>

    • Laura M. Semerjian

      

      My experience at Past Tyme Tea Parlour was an enjoyable one to remember. An afternoon tea party/baby shower in such a beautiful setting with excellent service and a delicious variety of teas was not only pleasant for me, but for all my guests as well. I highly recommend Past Tyme Tea Parlour to everyone!

    • Queen Sharon. Red Hot Dames

      

      My Red Hat Ladies (28 of us)loved our tea this weekend. Stella is a very gracious lady that goes all out to make your tea experience one of the best. The food was great and the scones that Stella makes are the best. If you are a Red Hatter give this tea shop a try. You will not be sorry. I will go again. I know some of my ladies will also go with their family. You are the best Stella.

    • Kristen

      

      I attended a baby shower on Sunday at the Parlour and I had a great time! The atmopshere is so warm and inviting. For a few hours, I felt relaxed and at peace. The service was great and the food delicious. Before I left, I decided to book a future event because I was so impressed overall. Stella was so accommodating. I highly recommend!

    • Eileen M.

      

      One of the greatest pleasures in life is to be in the company of those you love and Past Tyme Tea Parlour provides the perfect location to make it happen. This is a marvelous spot to relax and catch-up with your best friends or take your mom and sisters out for a special treat. The variety of teas cover the spectrum from traditional to exotic white teas. The food is scrumptous and plentiful. The owner is a delight and provides excellent service. Past Tyme is truly the best kept secret and highlight of historic uptown Whittier.

    • Angela

      

      Every visit to Past Tyme Tea Palor has been a treat for me and my friends. I especially love the warm scones with the great devonshire cream, the choice of teas, and the atmosphere. I also like that it is snuggled in uptown Whittier. I highly recommend it for bridal or baby showers. All my Best.

    • Christina

      

      I just recently visited Past Tyme with my mom, goddaughter and friends, and I had an absolutely wonderful time! The interior is quaint, adorable and pleasantly relaxing. I tried three different teas, all of which were very rich and unique in flavor. The treats seemed to never end - warm scones with jam, fresh fruit, a variety of mini sandwiches and an array of pastries. Once all of us were dressed up in the hats, jewelery and other vintage accessories provided, the staff and even customers were excited to take pictures of us. Visit Stella and her staff at Past Tyme for an undoubtedly enjoyable tea event!I'll be there again for my bridal shower :)

    • America

      

      I went to spend some time, with some friends who were in town for the weekend,at past Tyme Tea Parlour. I had never been there before but had heard great things.I was very impressed with the service at Past Tyme Tea Parlour. Our scones were fresh off the oven and the teas were as delicious as the the pastries,tea sandwiches and fruit plates.It was defenitely a memorable experience for me and my friends.We liked it so much that we made a reservation to have a personal shower for two of my friends who are getting married later this year. My favorite part was dressing up in hats and pearls. I felt like I was young again, playing tea with my sister. I just made a reservation to stop by again early next month when my sister,niece and a few friends will be joining us.Stella is wonderful.She is a very sweet, warm and inviting person.They couldn't have picked a better owner for the parlour.Mary Grace and Jennifer are also very sweet and helpful. They,along with Stella, made me feel at home.

    • John

      

      I've been to many tea rooms in Southern California and this one has been my favorite for a long time. The price is fair and you get a lot for what you pay for. You are allowed to pick as many different pots of tea as you want. You don't get scolded for changing flavors. The sandwiches are a nice size, not 1 inch by 1 inch. The new owner didn't change a thing. It's still the same ol' great place it always was. Just make sure you make reservations in advanced as all the food you will eat is prepared and baked fresh.

    • Lucy

      

      I had been trying to get in here to try their tea but they were always busy or booked so on a Wens I just stopped by, without a reservation and Stella the owner took me in and sat me at a beautifully set table. It was very relaxing. She said she usually doesn't like taking walk- ins because she doesn't like to make guests wait for 20 min for the scones to bake. But I didn't mind, and it wasn't like I was sitting there with nothing on the table. I got my tea and the fruit plate rather quickly. The fruit plate was very appealing. I was able to try a different tea when my pot became empty.They do use tea bags as opposed to loose leaf tea,which I guess makes it easier to try different flavors of tea. Stella was wonderful, we chatted for a long while and made me feel very comfortable,I am glad I went when she wasn't too busy. The scones were huge and savory. I was full on a fruit plate and the scone. The dev. cream was fab too!!!

    • Angie

      

      This is a wonderful place to enjoy excellent tea, delicious scones, tasty sandwiches. It is an ideal place to catch up with friends. I plan to spend many more relaxing afternoons at the Past Tyme Tea Parlour.

    • Pia Rios

      

      I had the wonderful pleasure of having afternoon tea here yesterday with my friend, cousin, goddaughter(7), and niece (3). We had the best time. From the moment we stepped into the parlour we were immediately drawn in with the sweet smell of homemade scones. The selection and quality of teas were exceptional -even the two kids loved the children's tea. The intimate ambiance and charm of this tea parlour is one of a kind. Thank you, Stella for an unforgettable tea experience. We will definitely be back again and again.

    • Tina Kim

      

      I love the scones here! After my first visit a few weeks ago, I thought about the scones so much that I've already made two more reservations next month for afternoon tea. Past Tyme offers a great selection of teas and Stella, the proprieter, is wonderful - so warm, friendly, and inviting!

    • Sandra Avila

      

      What a delightful place to enjoy the afternoon with a good friend. I had never been to a tea when my friend invited me about three weeks ago. She had learned of the tea parlour through a friend and wanted to try it out. The owner was very sweet and accomodating- we were walk-ins, which from what I later learned is not kosher tea etiquette. Stella, however, welcomed us and what a great time we had! The setting was intimate and very calming- what a nice break from everyday worries. I'll definitely be back.

    • DEBBIE

      

      I had the pleasure of stopping by for tea and sandwiches this weekend. I was greeted and treated with the upmost respect.The parlor smelled like hot scones, and tea brewing. I had excellent service while I was there, nothing but smiles. I had a million things rushing through my head that day with a full schedule a head of me. When I left I seemed to have put everything in place and felt more relaxed. I think it was the comfortable and friendly atmosphere. I appreciate the lift. I look forward to going back very soon.

    • Sally

      

      I've never been treated with so much disrespect. A friend and I walked in for afternoon tea on a Saturday around 2:00, a couple of hours before they close, and they told us that they'd just served a large party and that we should come back another day. Rather poor customer service.

    • Scoooot

      

      I stopped by on the new owner's first day. Everyone was more than friendly. She had her lovely daughter and long time school friend working alongside her and it made us feel like we were hanging out with family. She has big idea's for the place. Can't wait to stop by again!

    • Susan 08/16/05

      

      I had the fortune of stopping by this morning as the owner of 9 years served her last tea service. She was officially handing the business over 8/17. I hope the new owner keeps the same friendly atmosphere. The scones are from a mix, but served hot out of the oven, with real Devonshire cream. The fruit plate presentation is very lovely, as was the sandwiches. We'll have to come back in a month or two and see how the new owner is doing. A must if you're coming to uptown Whittier.

    • smoocheee

      

      I had a lovely experience here. The tea was very good and the presentation was lovely! The sandwich and fruit presentation was especially nice. Just be aware that when you first walk in you will be walking into a shop. The actual tea room is only about half of the 'store'. While I was there people were walking in and shopping, so it felt a little strange to me.

    • Lillian Clagett

      

      I spent a lovely Saturday afternoon at a 40th Birthday Tea Party. I loved the fresh aroma of scones in the air along with the taste of Devonshire cream. The tea and sandwiches are too die for. They are changing owners but I will always remember the owner who is sweet,charming and a true Brit. The new owner has alot to live up too.

    • Gail

      

      My best friend and I took my mother here for a Mother's Day gift. We absolutely loved the experience. The tea selection was good and the Tea Mistress encouraged us to try a second pot of another flavor if we wanted. The food was devine, especially the scones. Our service was terrific and we all felt as if we had made a wonderful new friend of the owner/server when we left. We will definately return. One of our favorite tea experiences.

    • Carrie

      

      I recently went for afternoon tea with my husband and daughter and it was very pleasant. The owner is very sweet and accomodating. You may choose different types of tea while you are there. The scones are delicious and so are the tea sandwiches. We would definately go again.

    • elisabeth/Monterey Park

      

      My mum and I frequent different tea parlors and this one is by far the most cozy and enjoyable experience we’ve had. The homemade scones were delightfully out of the ordinary, and the Devonshire cream scrumptious. There are a variety of teas to select from however, I always prefer Yorkshire gold. My mum is fond of flavored teas and she now has a new favorite, ginger peach. The chicken and walnut tea sandwich is very good. Do not expect to be served by hand and foot, go as if you are going to a dear friends home for tea. It’s more enjoyable that way. The owner is a lovely hostess. The shop is little cluttered, but that makes it all the more cozy. This tea parlor is now in our top five.