Coach and Horses Tearoom deserves an excellent +++! My tea friends visited today for the first time - and we will definitely be back! The teas were delicious - I had the cinnamon orange spice black tea. We had the Benjamin Franklin offering - it was full of sumptuous savories and sweets and the most delectable scone I've ever had. Mick is a charming host, and the rest of the staff could not have been nicer. The building is historic, and decorated according to the season. I cannot say enough positive things about Coach and Horses and I can't wait to return.
I came with my tea group friends - 9 in all - for a perfect afternoon at the British Pantry. The decor is simply lovely! I did not expect to see such a charming tea room! The full afternoon tea offered a marvelous selection of savories, scones and sweets. I had a delightful time, and hope to return soon.
I returned to Crest Hill today and again had a delightful time! Sally's service, tea, food, and atmosphere are the best! Thank you for a wonderful afternoon. Can't wait to return!
I visited today with a group of 7 friends - and we won't be back. The food was average, but not special. We were seated at a large folding table - no tablecloth, no place mats, and paper napkins. We had to ask for tea cups for half of our group. The atmosphere was severly lacking. Part of the fun of going to tea is the atmosphere, the special decorations, and frilly decor. We saw none of that. As we were leaving, we noticed a cute back room (near the front door which has a padlock on it) that had smaller tables with lace cloths and cute decor. We were told that we could have asked to be seated there - but we didn't know the room existed. The hostess said she put us at the large bare folding table to keep our group of 8 together. If we had been shown the cute room, we could have chosen to have our tea there. We were presented with an extensive tea list, but no tea samples. Several of the teas we wanted to try were not available. We looked forward to a special experience, and were very disappointed. Our tea gruoup will not return.
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your constructive review. First, I do not have one folding table in the restaurant. They are all antiques including the nine foot antique Mahogany table in which you were seated. <BR> Next time when dining out just ask if there are other seating options available and I am sure the host would gladly acommodate.<BR> All you had to do was ask to try a tea(s). Currently, I do not do a sample paring but am working on it.<BR> I sell out of teas quite quickly and sometimes it is hard to keep the extensive list up to date.<BR> I hope you and your group do find another independent tea room to attend. Lisa <BR>