Sign In or Register
Save money on tea! – Receive 2 Adagio points for each review. TeaGO – our new app!

Jo Anne   

User's reviews

  • Pickwick Society Tearoom Gifts & Antiques

    

    When I first heard about this tearoom from a loyal customer, I was very much looking forward to having tea there. And, I can honestly say that my first impression of it was very good. However, during subsequent visits I have had poor service, been made to wait unusually long to order and for my food to be served (when the restaurant was almost completely empty), and have been made to feel that I am decidedly unwelcome. Since I am an 'ethnic' American, I can only conclude that the owner and the staff of the Pickwick Society Tearoom are highly uncomfortable with a culturally diverse client base, and therefore does not desire one. In good conscience I CANNOT RECOMMEND this place to anyone, and I WILL NOT BE RETURNING there . . . EVER.

    Tearoom response:

    Jo Anne, I am sorry you feel that way and I am quite distressed that anyone would accuse me or my staff of any sort of discrimination. At the Pickwick we pride ourselves on our diverse staff and customer base. If you had expressed your concern while here, I could have explained. Not knowing what was going on the day you were here I can only say it could have been a day when we were short staffed, it could have been a day when we had many intricate orders or it could have just been that our somewhat leisurely style didn’t fit your schedule. I understand, we will not always please everyone but we certainly try our best to treat each and everyone of our customers with the same respect and consideration.<BR> Just for your information, our small staff includes 2 native Americans, a Cuban, a Mexican, an African American and 4 people of mixed heritage. I believe that’s about as diverse a staff as you could ask for in a group of nine.<BR> Cindy Vassell<BR> Owner/Chef

  • Annie's Cafe/Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlor

    

    2/19/10 This restaurant/tea room/ice cream parlour is a delight for anyone living in the southern suburbs of Chicago. Its highlights are the food, atmosphere and service, which are superb. Although the offerings for tea are limited, I still heartily recommend Annie's as a place for respite and calm. (I teach middle school; I DO know what I'm talking about here!)