I've been to Jessica's at least a half a dozen times. It is always a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is serene and the servers are friendly and informative. The selection of tea sandwiches and desserts is great, as well as the tea selection. Often, we get the high tea and add the puff pastry dish. It's great!! I go to tea at least twice a year, and this is by far the best overall place to go in the Allentown/Reading region.
I go to tea at least twice a year. I have tried various places. This 'tea room' seemed more like a luncheon cafe than a tea room. The tea selection was awesome, but the little things that 'make' a tea service, like lemon curd and sugar cubes were missing or of poor quality and poor presentation. The food was good, but I can get good food lots of places, I'm coming for the experience of 'having tea' and there was no ceremony or effort to make it a special moment. The hostess/waitress barely spoke to us, and offered no description of the various sandwiches and desserts put before us. All of the other tables were treated warmly, and were offered lots of information about the food available or presented to them. Each course was brought out while we were still only half done with the current course.
We are very sorry you were not pleased however, your table and several others neglected to inform us until arrival that Groupon vouchers were being redeemed which is stated on the voucher and these teas take special preparation for which we were not ready. AS for the waitress no interacting with the table, she does not interact when the parties are speaking with each other as we think it would be rude. We truly would like to know what 'ceremony' you expected so that we could add this to our tearoom if warranted. As for sugar cubes, we were advised by the Health Department that using them can be less that hygenic. Also, lemon curd was included on your platter but we make our own so it is not the lemony yellow of bought curd.<BR> Again, we can only apologize that you did not enjoy your experience.
I was disappointed in the variety of teas that were offered. Additionally, I felt the food was quite on the average to lacking side of things. However, the decor was awesome, and the gift shop was great! Although this tea room is less than 10 miles from me, I will travel further to get what I am looking for in the tea experience.
We are truly sorry you were disappointed. We have been open for 3 yrs, and this is the first 'not great' review we have had? I can tell you that we carry over 50 teas... so maybe you didnt get to see the list? And we have more arriving today to add to it. We also add weekly specials to our menus, and we do change the tea sandwiches often, so perhaps you will come back when there are different specials that you may enjoy more. Thank you for your patronage.